With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Moving forward.

2010-05-13 - 12:21 p.m.

Ah bliss, Biscuit has been pooping in the potty for a couple of weeks now. All it usually takes is for someone to notice that he hasn�t pooped yet that day and ask him if he wants to use the potty. He�s pretty much always game to try � the hard part is getting him off the potty, so much does he enjoy his little throne where he gets undivided attention � so on he goes where he pushes and grunts and� voil�.

He�s even started to initiate some of these trips, and the other day I had to take him out of the bath twice because he asked to use the potty both times. And yes, he did indeed poop both times.

Sure, there are other times that it�s the pop-eyed grunt that alerts us and we hustle off to the bathroom with him, but I think I�ve maybe changed only a couple of poopy diapers in the last couple of weeks, and I�ll take that, thank-you-very-much!

A boy, pooping in the potty at under age two, will wonders never cease?

He�s far less articulate than Grommet was at his age � her clear diction was easily understood by almost everyone, while we still have to guess what he says and interpret for most people � and I think he�s still middle-of-the-pack in terms of speaking, but it�s still adorable to hear him starting to string a couple of words together. Mumma? Mumma come. Sit?

::

Yesterday evening we went to meet the week-old baby of one of my husband�s best friends, and I had, well, not an epiphany, but confirmation of a realization that�s been slowly seeping in: I held that little, light-as-air, bow-legged, squeaking little newborn, and I did not yearn for another of my own. I looked at my two suddenly-enormous-seeming children � my beautiful, smart-as-a-whip, though-occasionally-defiant, almost-in-kindergarten, 4-year-old daughter, and my adorable, tow-headed, mischievous almost-2-year-old son � and I was totally satisfied by what I have already. I am looking forward to us all growing and developing along our journey as a family, and I am finally at the point where I don�t feel like there�s anyone missing.

As Linda so beautifully put it in her lovely post last year, �We are all here now.�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland