With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

I must like Libras.

2009-10-02 - 4:29 p.m.

I skipped lunch, went to a meeting that ran �til twenty minutes after three, then, in a frenzy of hunger, bought and scarfed most of a small tub of hummus, using half a pita and a handful of carrot sticks as, essentially, spoons. (Yes, there are a ton of commas in that sentence, and yet to take them out makes it read wrong to me.)

Am full.

::

Tomorrow my best friend and her family are coming to visit. It�s her birthday, J�s birthday, and Uncle Bob�s (our roommate) birthday, all on the 3rd of October. Crazy, no? We�re going to eat Thai or Mexican, put the youngest members of our troupe to bed, and play cards, put the second-youngest batch to bed, then break out the� well, maybe the wine? I don�t really drink and J drinks even less than me, but we have a whole liquor cupboard full of stuff and all the other grownups enjoy a good tipple, so I might even raise a glass or two of something myself. Even if I decide against that, I�m planning on making cupcakes so there will be indulgence going on NO MATTER WHAT.

It�s going to be AWESOME!

::

I have already gotten J a gift that I�ve declared most emphatically will NOT be his birthday gift. I wanted to acknowledge how much he�s stepped up since I�ve gone back to work; picking up the kids, trying to ensure there�s dinner on the table, keeping the place from being encrusted with a layer of filth, you know how it goes. So, I�m sending him to a hockey game with his BFF in a couple of weeks.

Unfortunately, that is where I�ve run out of good ideas. If you�ve got any, please share them before midnight tonight. Please? Anyone?

::

Must go pick up sour cream for the cupcake recipe. What? You want a link? Okay, here it is. Enjoy! I skip the cream filling but these are divine even without it, and even easier to make. Trust me.

Oh and if you're reading this and looking for a gift for me for my birthday next week? The author of the site that link brings you to has put out a cookbook. I'm just sayin'.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland