With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Yes, I mentioned Christmas.

2009-09-29 - 12:50 p.m.

It�s pouring outside, in true fall fashion. I�ve graduated to Capri-length pants with my bright yellow rubber boots, sandals when it�s dry. It won�t be long before I�m in full-length pants and closed shoes, and after that it�ll be my enormous insulated winter boots.

This past weekend, Biscuit started charging around while holding onto our fingers. I know what you�re thinking: didn�t he start taking steps on his own recently? Isn�t this news then kinda backwards? Nope. He has never trusted us enough to walk while holding onto us, preferring instead to beetle along the furniture or holding onto a wheeled toy. The instant we tried to get him to take our hands or even to hang onto our clothes while we moved he�d get alarmed and lower himself bum-first to the floor. I guess now that he knows he can walk a bit on his own it doesn�t feel like he�s so dependant on us to keep him upright and will take that bit of extra support.

Tomorrow I get paid! Yay! It�ll be nice to have an income again, particularly right before the mortgage comes out of my account the next day. And just in time to buy some birthday gifts. October is a big month for that in my family (my husband, our roommate and my dad, and my step-mother is at the end of September but I don�t generally see her until Thanksgiving to give her a gift � I have my birthday on the 9th but don�t have to worry about buying anything for that one, though my husband does), plus this year we have a nephew�s baptism to buy a gift for, and in general I�m starting to be on the lookout for Christmas presents around now too.

I was thinking of belts with cute buckles for all three little girls in the family this year. It�s a lot easier for young�uns to use a buckle than operate a standard belt closure, and I found some adorable ones just for children at Beltz4Kidz.com. There�s no shipping until the end of tomorrow either, so it�s worth buying them now. In a couple of years I�ll probably get the two boys the same, but maybe the tractor and firetruck instead of the cupcakes and ladybug I�m eyeing for the girls. I�ve already got a few little things for the �Rents, but can�t say what they are here because I suspect my mom�s found my blog.

It�s not like I�ve ever gone out of the way to hide it or anything; I would think mentioning that I�m going to BlogHer more than once would be a big clue. But it�s not like I�ve ever sent her a link or anything either. I did, however, send her a link to a recipe that I�d forgotten I�d commented on that had my name linked back here, and the next time I saw her she asked if the Shawna in the comments was me. Then later that day something mildly amusing transpired and she pointedly said something about how she had a feeling that that would show up online.

To be honest though, she has such a slow connection where she lives out in the country and so little time to doodle around online I would be surprised if she is reading regularly. Still you never know� So yeah, if you�re reading this, Hi Mom!

Oh hey, I�ve got a collaboration in the works with another Etsy photographer. Hopefully I�ll be posting something about it over in my shop sometime soon. Even if it gets delayed, it�s time to revitalize that place a bit so there should be some fall updating going on over there to get ready for the Christmas shopping season and potential visits from people who see my work at the Glebe Community Centre, where I�ll be the featured artist for the month of November. Feel free to drop by.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland