With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The Stalker-licious entry!

2009-07-15 - 9:48 p.m.

I know everyone and their dog is a self-styled �photographer� these days, so it is, in fact, slightly sheepishly that I bring up the topic. However, at the risk of sounding like I�m either bragging or begging, I do have a show this Saturday (July 18th). It�s an Art in the Park in downtown Ottawa, so if you�re stalking me more from a-near than afar, here�s your chance to draw a bead on me. It�s in Minto Park, which is about halfway up Elgin St. (or halfway down, for you pessimists) and runs from 9 am to 5 pm. I did have to get juried in, and I know for a fact they did at least turn some people down, but I�m not sure how many. I do know that the other artists they�ve profiled on the event blog represent a very wide gamut of the arts and many are very talented, so take what you will from that.

I�ve got a similar, though non-juried, Art-in-the-Park show coming up on August 8th in Strathcona Park in Sandy Hill, so if you would-be assassins miss your mark this weekend, you�ll have another chance very soon. (I�m also the featured artist at the Glebe Community Centre Art Gallery for the month of November, but won�t actually be there in the flesh as it�s really more of a generic public space used for meetings and whatnot than a true dedicated gallery.) I�m not too worried though, it�s not like I court a lot of controversy here in Compartment 14B; if the controversial Heather Armstrong from Dooce makes public appearances without being shot I feel safe as a celery stick in a bakery display window letting y�all know where I�ll be and when.

I�ve got to get a few more images up at my Flickr account and add a few listings to my Etsy shop in preparation. In terms of non-virtual stuff, I think I�m pretty set: I�ve got a big tent in case it rains, a table to put my business cards (ordered? check.) and portfolio book (bought? um, not yet.) on, and the materials for my display bought. I do have to do a couple of things to assemble and test my design for the display still, and probably won�t have a chance to do so until Thursday night. I�ve got all but three of my prints back from the printer, and I have the mats ordered to be picked up tomorrow and most of the frames bought, so I should be able to assemble the vast majority of finished product tomorrow night.

I also have to decide on prices. In the interest of being fair to those who bought my work at the Canadian Tulip Festival Art Gallery, I think I have to keep the prices for that particular size consistent. I haven�t yet decided on prices for smaller prints, though obviously they�ll be less. I�ll take the prices for what I have posted on Etsy as a baseline, and factor framing and pain-in-the-ass-running-around-to-get-framing-accomplished costs in. Plus almost all the prints I have at the live show are larger than what I offer on Etsy. This is partly because it�s so much easier and cost effective to ship small prints, and partly because I have the vague feeling that larger prints are more like capital-A Art. This is particularly true for my macro stuff, which makes up about 80% of my fine-art work. In my opinion only, if a close-up of something is printed small, you miss a lot of the detail that is the point of photographing it and blowing it up, y�know? Plus it seems like there are a few people around (philistines!) that don�t consider photography to be art, and, though small, card-sized prints would probably sell at a show, I don�t want to sell them because then it feels kind of like I�m taking my art and making it more into a craft. I really am trying to get people to think �artist� when they look at my stuff, more than �artisan� (a noble designation, just not the one I�m aiming for).

Maybe I�m overthinking this a bit, yes?

Anyway, here�s the link to the show blog (look for my featured blurb and the poster that includes me on the list of artists � I�m going to keep a copy, I�m that tickled). There are details there, as well as a link to my website and directions for finding me on Facebook.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland