With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Out of a couple of closets.

2008-12-16 - 9:42 a.m.

The eye of the beholder.
They're only weeds if you don't like them, and to me nothing says "spring" like the first dandelions.

It seems like this month is shaping up to be a time I talk about aspects of my life here I don�t discuss much. The last couple of entries have been about fitness and the fact that I teach a fitness class; this one is about my photography.

Yes, I know I�ve mentioned that I take pictures. You may have noticed that this journal is oddly lacking in pics for someone who professes to be into photography. Other than the fact that I consider that to be a different compartment of my life (not 14B, clearly), this is also partly because I don�t think Diaryland is a great platform for posting a lot of images. Also, I do plan on getting my own domain up and running in the new year, and its chief purpose will be to showcase my pictures. I do have a flickr account, but it�s devoted exclusively to pictures of my kids for the purposes of sharing with friends and family.

However, there are a few things converging this month that has brought my photography to the forefront in my mind: I�ve been struggling with getting a shot of my kids that I deem worthy of sending in Christmas cards (finally managed this yesterday); I made those wonderful to look at, but infernal to put together, picture Christmas books for the �rents and my grandmother and this entailed doing a lot of post-processing to pics I had, and; I�ve been working on acquiring a reasonable competency at Photoshop, and waging some serious internal battles over whether to upgrade from my ancient version 7.0 so that I can work with my RAW format pics, or whether to buy Photoshop Elements, or just stick with what I�ve got. The full Photoshop CS4 is, like, a thousand bucks. But I just don�t know if Elements would give me the same functionality. I guess it comes down to whether or not I really, truly, will be making a real go of making some money with my pictures. Photoshop will probably be a necessity if I do, plus it can be written off as a business expense.

The other thing is, I�m starting to think about entering some contests with my images� starting today with the pic at the top of this page, which is my entry in Greeblemonkey�s December Greeblepix contest. I figure if y�all vote for me I�m a shoe in for, well, at least 5 votes. Hey, maybe I�ll think big and aim for double digits. If you click the link I can at least guarantee that you�ll see some cool shots, no matter whether you think mine�s the best or not.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland