With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

A "down" week.

2008-10-21 - 9:03 a.m.

I know, I know, I didn�t write as much as usual last week. What can I say? Life has kept me busy in general and learning the ins and outs of Photoshop has taken up a lot of my computer time.

This week hasn�t been very good to our household: J�s great-aunt passed away and his almost-34-week-pregnant sister, who was very close to their great-aunt, has had some complications and has been administered steroid shots to help the baby�s lungs mature if he�s born early. She�s now on bed rest and can�t make it to the funeral, which will be later this week. She�s also the executor of the will, and while I don�t know a lot about how these things work in terms of when the will stuff has to be taken care of, I�m pretty sure this particular timing sucks.

I tried to cheer J up by pointing out that his great-aunt had lived a long and relatively healthy life and that her decline had been mercifully short. She was, I believe, in her eighties and had been diagnosed with lung cancer only just over a month ago. She refused treatment and her death had been expected.


I do know though, that both J and his sister would have liked to see her and she refused visitors or even phone calls because she didn�t want to be remembered as so ill. I sort of understand and it�s true that, as a result, I remember her as she had been for as long as I�d known her: lovely and gracious and sharp as a tack. Still, J would have dearly liked to at least introduce her to Biscuit and regrets that he didn�t make the effort before we knew she was sick. Poor guy. He just couldn�t have known and it seemed like we had all the time in the world to make the introduction so what would be the harm in waiting until J�s sister was up and organized her usual family get-together?

To add to the general bad juju this week, Grommet complained that her bum was hurting but when I added the fact that she said her pee hurt I suspected a urinary tract infection. This was bourn out by a urine dip at the doctor�s yesterday, so she�s on antibiotics. They�ll do a culture to confirm that bacteria are the cause of the blood in her urine, but if it is they�ll be referring us to a urologist as, apparently, a UTI in a girl under three is normally investigated further to rule out problems like congenital defects. (FYI, a UTI in a boy at any age apparently should be investigated automatically.) Frankly, my initial reaction is that I�m not inclined to put her through any invasive tests based on one UTI, though I�ll certainly inform myself better and listen to the urologist�s point of view if it comes to that.

So yeah, don�t be surprised if this week is also light on entries, or if I do write, if the entries aren�t exactly rays of sunshine. Sorry, my life is what it is, and this is where I write about it.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland