With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Vanquishing baby brain.

2008-09-19 - 12:27 p.m.

Today I bought a calendar: the kind that has columns for every member of your (better-be-under-5-people-TOTAL) family to record goings-on. I�ve already entered the dentist and doctor�s appointments my kids have in October and November, and the list-maker inside me already feels better.

Why did it need to feel better? Because earlier this week I stood someone up and last month I would have done the same had they not called me a mere hour before our appointed rendezvous. Now, I am known for being a conscientious tracker of engagements, and am the one that keeps track of our family social calendar. The thing is though, normally I have Outlook on in front of me 5 days a week and set reminders appropriately timed to go off at some point during those 5 days. Also, I can�t seem to keep things in my head the way I normally do. Is this the fabled �baby-brain�? Seriously, I can make plans with someone or formulate my own plan to do something and five minutes later it�s totally gone, poof, as if it never existed.

Not that I want to write, �water plants� on an actual calendar, that would just be silly. Right?

The other thing I like about this calendar is that I can jot down milestones as they occur. Last Sunday Biscuit laughed for the first time. Now it�s recorded on the calendar for posterity. Of course, it�s also now recorded here, which I�m kind of hoping will also be a good way, an even better way even, for �posterity� to check these things.

In other news, I went to a Zumba class this morning (I need to give it a few more tries before I can tell if it�s going to stay in heavy rotation on my fitness list, which is mostly BodyPump classes right now). And I met a new person yesterday, who�s the wife of a guy who I met on the bus. I know that sounds kind of random, but he and I were talking about how we�re both new to this area of town and he works for the same employer I do and is about my age so I thought we might have some stuff in common. I�m not sure I have a lot in common with his wife in terms of personality, but in terms of interests we definitely have some overlapping on our Venn diagram: she�s into writing and photography. I�ll have to see how this pans out too. I could use a friend in this neck of the woods. Not that I don�t love you still, internet, but it�s not a bad thing to supplement my friends in the box on my kitchen table with friends that can actually go out for coffee, y�know?

Must be off: my sister in-law is coming with her two kids for the next couple of nights and this place needs to be spruced up a bit.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland