With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Blah, blah, blah... hey! Another muffin recipe!

2008-09-09 - 2:19 p.m.

While I did go back to the gym for the first time a couple of weeks ago, two days ago I REALLY went back in the sense that I did a class, and lo, my ass, it was kicked. Yesterday my lower back was sore enough that I couldn�t stand entirely erect without oddly clenching my cheeks, and I don�t mean the ones on my face, to do a sort of pelvic tilt. Today I�m sore basically from my knees to mid-back, though it�s less intense and I can stand as a modern Homo sapien should.

Bear in mind that this is a class that I have taught for the last 5+ years and only stopped doing 3 � months ago. Gah, how quickly we slide from our physical fitness level if we take it down a few notches for a silly thing like, oh, pregnancy and birth-recovery.

::

In other news, I have a new recipe to share with y�all. I remember having the odd �Fresh Fruit Muffin� (though the pedant in me wants to quibble over how �fresh� fruit can be if it�s baked in a muffin � I guess �Cooked Fruit Muffin� doesn�t have quite the same cachet for the vendor) at work that was pretty tasty. It was obviously a banana muffin base they�d mixed fruit into. Taking that assumption and running with it, I have developed a recipe that�s loosely based on a combination of this banana muffin recipe that Sundry linked to, and my own Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffin recipe I posted here awhile back.

So, without further ado, I give you�

Fruit Muffins

INGREDIENTS
- 1 cup all-purpose or cake & pastry flour
- 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
- 1 teaspoon baking powder
- 1 teaspoon baking soda
- 1/2 teaspoon salt
- 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
- 3 large bananas, mashed
- 3/4 cup white sugar
- 1 large or two small eggs
- 1/4 cup oil
- 1 generous cup mixed fruit (blueberries and diced peaches and strawberries are nice)

DIRECTIONS

  • Sift together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon; set aside.

  • Combine bananas, sugar, egg, and oil in a large bowl. Fold in flour mixture, and mix until smooth.

  • Fold in mixed fruit.

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

  • Butter muffin pan, or use paper liners.

  • Scoop batter into muffin pan.

  • Bake in preheated oven for � an hour (may take a few minutes more or less, depending on which egg option you went with and how mushy the fruit you chose is.

  • Bake for � an hour at 350 degrees.

  • Feed them to your kids (after cooling a bit!), feeling good about the fact that there�s about � a serving of fruit in each muffin, even if that fruit is cooked.

  • Leave a comment bragging about how great your fruit combo was.

This recipe makes 1 dozen muffins. Prep time <15 mins; total time ~ 45 mins.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland