With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Will the real Slim Shady please stand up?

2008-08-28 - 1:09 p.m.

So today I checked my stats as I routinely do, only to discover that someone had read over 250 pages of my journal in the wee hours of the morning. Since most only stick around for a page or two at a time, this should probably make me feel good � that someone found my little corner of the web compelling enough to hang around here through a novella�s-worth of reading. Instead, I have this big question mark hanging over my head blinking �Why?� in neon green.

The first thought that popped into my head is that I�ve been found out and maybe it�s someone who knows me in real life that�s finally on to me. I mean, I�m not exactly cloak-and-daggers about this journal � telling people I�ve attended BlogHer just might make them wonder if I do, in fact, blog � but I don�t announce the explicit existence of Compartment 14B to many people.

I realize that I may be being paranoid, and even if some non-virtual friend/acquaintance/family member did find this space it shouldn�t be a big deal since I�ve always tried to stick with the policy of not saying bad things about people behind their backs (note, the other half of this policy is not to say too much about work, or slag my excellent boss). Still, it does weird me out a little that someone would do so much reading without leaving a comment on a single entry. If not to announce �Ah ha! So THIS is what you�ve been up to!� than at least to say hi.

All this is to say, I know it�s not the official De-lurking Day but if you�re the mysterious reader � or heck, any reader at all since I�ve noticed I�ve had a few more regulars lately too who stay mum � a friendly hello in the comments section would be appreciated. Or at least hit the Contact Me link and replace the [at] with an @ to drop me a line of reassurance. I know you�re not my mother � on dial-up there�s no way she�d have been able to view 250 pages in a week, much less an evening � but there is always my (lovely, vivaceous) sister�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland