With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

I'm too old for teenage angst.

2008-08-15 - 9:40 p.m.

I have to admit that I�ve been feeling not entirely� hmm, how do I put this� happy? No, that�s not it, because I certainly know that my life is blessed in many ways. �Sunshine and roses? Well, who is when they�ve got a baby in the house? �Settled, maybe. It�s like, I�m going crazy watching the days just flow past and I want to be doing something useful to differentiate one day from the next, (other than tending to Biscuit, which I realize is useful but it�s also kind of brain-numbing after a while) but also want to sit on my ass and devour all three seasons of House on DVD. My anxiety for activity is there, but my get up and go got up and went.

I think it�s maybe at least partly because I do finally feel mostly recovered from my c-section and want to be back to my old self NOW dammit. Trouble is, my old self was 10 lbs lighter, went to the gym several times a week, and had a well-paying, intellectually-stimulating job where she was respected by her peers and bosses.

Don�t get me wrong, there are moments of heart-twisting happiness all the time; Biscuit has started smiling and cooing and ohmigod he�s just so cute and yummy when he does that. But he�s also still crying and contorting every evening to the point that one of us has to pop him in the carrier and walk for pretty much at least an hour and a half, and he still hasn�t realized that those tentacles that wave in front of his face are his hands so he can�t do anything to occupy himself at. All. Not to mention, when he does get upset his hands � topped with nails that seem to stay sharp no matter how much trimming and filing I do � start to windmill and it�s like holding a tiny little thresher to my bosom. On purpose.

To be honest, I don�t think my current overall mood is dictated one way or the other by my kids, except to the degree that my hormones are being affected by my post-partum state. How do I know that�s happening? All that hair that was retained during my pregnancy has started falling out.

I guess I just feel like I�m waiting for something, but I don�t know what. And I don�t know if it�s something I can hurry the journey towards, or if I even want to or should just chill and savour. I�ve still got most of a year off and, to be honest, this is a year during which I really thought I�d kind of find myself and decide what I wanted to do work-wise for the next phase of my life (i.e., the one in which I have my kids and I�m not trying to get pregnant anymore, and don�t anticipate taking further advantage of my employer�s ridiculously good maternity benefits). Instead I just feel stalled; dispensing milk and watching too much TV while time slips by. And it�s not like I�m not grateful to have the luxury of this time � I am � I just don�t want to waste it.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland