With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Two months of Biscuit!

2008-08-04 - 9:19 a.m.

Biscuit turned two months old yesterday. He�s growing out of his first set of baby clothes already and has his well-baby appointment and first round of shots this Thursday. He�s on the cusp of no longer being a newborn: depending on his expression and the angle from which you�re viewing him, he appears alternately like a helpless little gopher peering over your shoulder, or a robust and animated baby. He is starting to smile a bit more and interact with the world around him. He notices the lights in the swing now, and will follow me with his eyes and turn his head to keep sight of me. We can only hope that his evening crying jags will be coming to an end in a month or so.

Did I not mention those? (If I have and have forgotten, blame the baby-brain.) Yeah, every evening his little face screws itself into a crumpled, unhappy ball and he starts to howl. It generally starts sometime after 8:00 pm and almost always ends before 11:00 pm at the latest. I think he usually goes for about an hour and always looks very uncomfortable. We feel sorry for him but at least we know it will pass � Grommet did something similar � and are hoping that the 3-month mark will signal it�s decline. In the meantime we try to comfort him as best we can. First I check if he�s hungry and if he latches on but then freaks out when the milk lets down we know he�s not hungry. Then, depending on the weather, we might put him in the Moby wrap and go for a walk, or we�ll offer him a finger to suck on, or we�ll stroll around the house, or we�ll change his position to see if we can find the �magic� one that�ll make him on that particular day. Often he�ll initially settle when something changes, but will eventually the air molecules will re-arrange themselves into a pattern that displeases him and he�ll launch back into a full-throated wail. At some point before 11:00 he�s just had enough and goes to sleep.

We think it might be gas, except that it�s rare that his settling coincides with the release of it. Sometimes he fusses and then spits up/farts/poops and settles, but just as often as not he�ll go back to fussing after only a short while. I�m considering cutting back on dairy again, as that seemed to marginally help Grommet. It�s not my first choice of action though, since I not only like diary, I think it�s particularly good for me to drink milk while I�m nursing.

We got the Flip Mino video camera, so we�re capturing some of these early days. I only wish we�d gotten something like this for Grommet�s baby-hood. Oh well, she�ll have to be content with the eleventy-billion pictures we have of her. Not that we have none of our little man...

Cheese!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland