With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

To Grommet: a love poem.

2008-05-27 - 8:17 a.m.

Your forehead rests against my cheek.
Your arms encircle my neck; mine, your torso.
One hand grazes the small of your back.
But we are not dancing.
Your breath puffs against my neck, toddler-sweet. Your silk hair tickles my nose.
And you don�t stir, even though your smooth belly is being nudged by your brother from inside mine.

It�s five am, and the early summer dawn is already casting leaf-shadows on the curtains.
I too should be asleep.
But I am loathe to let go of this moment.
Too soon there won�t be the luxury of time like this.
Time to just savour the moment, when it�s just you and me,
Cocooning in our nest; sleeping in each other�s embrace.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland