With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Stupid yoga.

2008-04-03 - 3:26 p.m.

I have a confession: I hate yoga, which is probably a weird thing for someone who has been taking it for NINE YEARS to say.

Okay, I don�t hate it all the time, but the fact is that I hate yoga when I�m pregnant. Even prenatal yoga, though in a different way than regular, non-prenatal yoga. You see, I know that I�m supposed to be relaxing and recharging and thinking about peace in the universe and stuff, but instead I spend pretty much the whole class seething in resentment.

Can�t the instructor see that I�m pregnant? I think, How DARE he or she suggest a pregnant person do something so uncomfortable? And why am I not being given options or alternate moves for this one, which I CLEARLY cannot do. Bring my ribs to my knees and tuck my hands under my feet, my A$$! My ribs will be nowhere near my knees so long as there�s a GIANT BELLY in the way!

So yes, I spend a lot of my time feeling like my belly is cumbersome and getting unhealthily squashed. As I get bigger, more and more I find I have to modify certain poses through my own experience and inventiveness, because waiting for an instructor to actually instruct me will leave me sitting cross-legged for a lot of the class. And, of course, I try not to notice people looking at me, the manatee amongst the sea otters, with curiosity.

Yet, even though it irks me to be put through my paces in a regular class, if it�s a prenatal class it bugs me that I don�t feel like I got much of a workout.

And can I just say that I am sick to death of a certain instructor asking, mid-class, personal questions and how far along I am, only to inevitably respond that, really? She thought I was SO MUCH CLOSER TO MY DUE DATE THAN THAT! My response is generally to smile tightly and say how good it is to know that I look even huger than I feel. So far I don�t think she�s noticed that that actually means I�m not thrilled with her comments. C�mon lady, give me a break here. I�m well within the recommended weight gain guidelines for this point in my pregnancy.

So why do I do it? Well, I�m not a huge fan of cauliflower or Brussels sprouts either, but I dutifully put some on my plate at the buffet of my favourite vegetarian restaurant because they�re good for me. Yoga is the same right now: it�s good for me so I�m going to keep doing it for as long as I have the opportunity during this pregnancy. It�s at lunch time twice a week at my work, so it�s not hard to fit into my schedule (unlike the gym). And last time I was pregnant, as evidenced in this journal, I had to stop exerting myself when I started to develop pre-eclampsia symptoms at about 33 weeks, and I�ve always wondered if this was related to the fact that I�d stopped teaching at the gym a couple of weeks before that. I�m at 30 weeks tomorrow and in the last couple of days have noticed my rings starting to get tighter, so I figure if I can stave off any problems with exercise I should do so. And if I can�t stave them off and am forced into inactivity, at least it means that my inactive period will be shorter.

So, for now, it�ll be off to yoga I go.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland