With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Bonus entry: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins, Redux

2008-04-01 - 9:23 a.m.

I first posted this recipe almost four years ago. It was given to me by my mother, who�d gotten it from a friend, who�d gotten it from her sister, who�d gotten it from someone �out west�. I�ve never made these for someone without being asked for the recipe and they�re really ridiculously easy to make. I have a friend who makes them for bake sales, but labels them "Harvest Muffins" because she's afraid people will be put off by the idea of pumpkin in a muffin.

Because they�re J�s favourite, plus a good way to sneak pumpkin into the diet of my picky eater toddler (for whom I try to break off chunks around the chocolate chips � hard to do when I�ve doubled the amount of chocolate chips from the original recipe), I�ve been making them a lot lately. I wanted to repost the recipe and update it with my own variations actually incorporated into it, rather than give the original and tell you what I do differently. If you want the original, follow the link above. Otherwise, read on:

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

- 2 eggs
- 1/4 cup oil
- 1 cup sugar
- 1 cup all-purpose or cake & pastry flour
- 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (the total of 1 1/2 cups of flour can be all white flour if you don't have whole wheat flour, but really, they're great with the whole wheat flour, and healthier)
- 1 teaspoon baking powder
- 1 teaspoon baking soda
- 1/2 teaspoon salt
- 1 teaspoon cinnamon
- 1 generous cup cooked/canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling, and it does make a difference which brand you use � I use Stokley which I�ve found to contain less water and be a much darker orange than some other popular brands. Also, a large can contains just over 3 cups, so I divide the can into 3 equal portions and freeze two of them for future batches)
- 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

  • In a large mixing bowl, beat the eggs, add the oil and stir in the sugar.

  • Add the next six ingredients (both flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon) to a separate bowl, then stir it around with a spoon or similar implement to mix together (bonus: the cinnamon helps you see if it�s mixed thoroughly).

  • Add dry ingredients to mixing bowl and stir into the wet ingredients until combined.

  • Add the pumpkin. Stir until just mixed thoroughly.

  • Add chocolate chips. Mix.

  • Spoon the batter into buttered muffin tin.

  • Bake for � an hour at 350 degrees.

  • Eat as soon as you can do so (my husband butters them but it�s not necessary) without burning your fingers or tongue. A cold glass of milk is handy for this purpose.

  • Groan with delight then thank me in the comments section. Or send me money. You know, whichever.

This recipe makes 1 dozen muffins but doubles easily. Prep time <15 mins; total time ~ 45 mins.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland