With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Week 29 OB visit.

2008-03-29 - 4:14 p.m.

It's official - according to the OB's scale, in the last 4 weeks I have gained... zero weight. Yep, the reading was exactly the same as at my previous appointment. I asked the doctor if she was concerned though, and her answer was,
"Are you still eating?"
"Uh, yes."
"Then I'm not concerned."

Okey dokey then.

This means I'm lighter than I was at this point in the pregnancy than I was last time, and on track to gain a total of about 31 pounds if I gain a pound a week until my c-section. Yay for wiggle-room!

I have to say, I do feel a bit better than I think I did at this point last time, just in the sense that I feel like I can do more during my fitness classes. This doesn't not mean, however, that I have escaped feeling really squished in the belly when I bend over, or just really big by the end of the day. And when I say "squished", I don't mean the almost-pleasant contriction of having something securely but evenly pressing into your belly (what, am I the only person that finds that sensation comforting?), I'm talking more about that "ugh" kind of feeling you get when your doctor is "palpitating" your abdomen and asking, "Does this hurt?"

I fully expect to gain at least a couple of lbs before my next appointment, which is in 2 weeks (they're closer together from this point onwards!). I suspect that this latest weigh-in was somewhat influenced by the fact that this is the first time it wasn't preceded by lunch. Typically, I seize the opportunity to go to one of my favourite lunch places when I have an obstetrician's appointment because it's right near the office. And typically I have a bagel sandwich with soup, a cup of decaf coffee, and a large glass of water. Given that amount of liquid, that's probably a couple of pounds right there.

If only I can avoid the sudden ballooning and attendant weight-gain of pre-eclampsia this time though, I'll be doing well. It was the one thing that marred my otherwise textbook-healthy pregnancy last time.

Today I taught my last class at the gym for this schedule, and last time I went on leave at pretty much the same point. The onset of my pre-eclampsia symptoms was two weeks later. This time I'm going to make an extra effort to continue working out even though I'm no longer teaching. It might not make a difference, but if there's a chance it could, it's worth trying.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland