With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

I hope bad things don't really come in threes.

2008-03-12 - 11:08 a.m.

Yes, I�m still sick, and about a quarter of my face is numb, thanks to the dental anaesthetic I got this morning that hasn�t worn off yet.

What�s that? Why would I need to have my face frozen? Because having a miserable friggin� cold wasn�t enough for me � I had to go and break a tooth yesterday. Believe it or not, I was almost through the left over Swiss Chalet chicken. I was this close to getting off scott free when it happened: a very small piece of bone snuck in unnoticed and when I bit down on it full-force, well, there was simultaneously a sickening crack and small bolt of pain and further quick investigation revealed that I�d managed to break off one of the points of my molars.

It could have been far worse � the tooth could have broken down the middle and the nerve could have been exposed � but as it was I still needed an emergency dental appointment today to repair the damage. It was mildly sensitive but the real problem is that the razor-sharp edges of the break were gouging the edge of my tongue whenever I spoke, ate or drank.

So yeah, I know that pregnant women are supposed to avoid unnecessary interventions like dental repairs, but the key word there is �unnecessary� so I hied off to the dentist post-haste this morning. I�m not really looking forward to the return of sensation, and in fact snuck in a quick breakfast of soft things right after my repair work was done, just in case it�s painful to eat for awhile.

You know, it�s funny but, in the past, being sick has had this weird sort of silver lining in that I may feel like crap, but at least I usually lost a little weight. Being sick while pregnant has posed a new and unexpected set of challenges in that I can�t exactly afford to skip meals just because I�m not hungry. My biggest concern this past week hasn�t been how bad I was feeling, but whether or not Biscuit was being affected by my illness. I have to confess that I still haven�t eaten what I probably should have been eating, given that I�m six months pregnant, but I�ve forced myself to eat more than I really wanted to and have probably managed to at least get down 3 smallish meals a day, including some protein and some fruit. Breaking this tooth hasn�t exactly helped me want to eat much more than the minimum, y�know?

Oh well, hopefully I�ll be back to stuffing my face in no time�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland