With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Just call me a pinko commie.

2008-02-28 - 4:12 p.m.

Speaking of money leaving my hands� I did a rough estimate of my taxes this year and guess what? My employer hasn�t been taking off NEAR enough taxes throughout the year and at present I owe well over $3000. Now, there are a couple of reasons that this isn�t the true, final amount: I pay for all Grommet�s daycare but earn more than J, and the Revenue Canada [stupid] rule is the spouse with the lower income has to be the one to claim the expense (which seems totally unfair, because chances are at least the lion�s share will be paid by the person earning more money, not less), and so once his numbers are crunched he�ll get a refund which will somewhat offset my amount owing. The other thing is that, because my job with the gym takes me to multiple locations throughout the city and I have to pay for certain supplies/certifications/conferences out of my own pocket, I�ll be able to write off some employee expenses that haven�t been factored in yet. Also, I hadn�t yet made any RRSP contributions: something I remedied today. So, it should be somewhat lower than the original rough estimate. Still, it�s not a fun prospect, hard on the heels of the plumbing debacle earlier this week.

The only pleasant surprise is that they�ve introduced a couple of child-related credits, including one you can get for enrolling your children in fitness programs, so we can claim Grommet�s swim lessons. I mean, it�s not like it makes a big difference, but anything is better than nothing.

Despite my grousing, I do want to state that I believe very strongly in paying taxes to support social programs. I don�t mind my money going towards ensuring that the disadvantaged in our society get a leg up, or the ill get medical coverage, or new parents get that year-long partially-paid maternity leave. All I ask is that the money I hand over to the government for these sorts of things isn�t so much that it imposes an unreasonable financial burden on me and my family, and that the money is well-managed so that it�s spent effectively and makes a real difference. I suspect most Canadians would say the same, and that�s one of the things that makes this country a great one to live in.

Now if we could just annex a warm place like, oh, say, Cuba now that Fidel Castro has stepped down, so that we can still live in Canada but be in the tropics�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland