With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Early morning brilliance. Not.

2008-02-25 - 9:20 a.m.


Sorry if I�m getting all TMI on you, but I wanted to give people a reason to laugh (even if it�s at me) on a Monday morning�

The slightly greater delicacy of the nasal membranes brought on by pregnancy, and the dry winter air have conspired to make my heart skip a beat on a lot of recent mornings. Unlike most pregnant women, I don�t always get up during the night to pee, however, like pretty much everyone, I do at least pee when I wake up in the morning. And with the elevated tendency to get stuffed up brought on by pregnancy, it�s not unusual in the morning lately for me to blow my nose while there�s a suitable paper product right there.

Given how dry it�s been (and man am I ever ready for this winter to end, and yet there�s another 10-15 cm of snow expected tonight), most mornings the, er, stuff I expel from my nose (la dee dah, apparently I think �snot� is a crude word) is at least pink-tinged, if not downright bloody.

Naturally, I just drop it in the most convenient disposal place at hand, i.e., the throne that I�m sitting on. And yet, when I stand up mere seconds later, if I happen to glance down when I reach back to flush, I invariably experience a micro-second of panic to see a glob of blood in the bowl.

Now, it does only take me that instant to remind myself that it�s from my nose and not any sort of sign that anything�s wrong with the pregnancy, but still, you�d think it wouldn�t catch me off-guard every frickin� time.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland