With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

And the winner for rudest comment is...

2008-01-29 - 10:23 a.m.

I have to tell you what happened to me yesterday. Unfortunately, this will probably surprise no one who is or has been visibly pregnant.

First of all, I have to say that the co-worker in this tale is a very nice, well-meaning guy� but he�s infamous for putting his foot in his mouth without even realizing it. As soon as I heard his intro, indicating that even he was aware that perhaps he was treading in dangerous waters, I knew he was headed for a doozy:

Co-worker: I hope you don�t take this as an insult, but you�re really big for someone who�s only four months pregnant. That must be a really healthy baby in there!

slight pause while I briefly struggled with a �should I or shouldn�t I� impulse� �yeah, I SO SHOULD�

Me: Okay, first of all, I�m NOT only four months pregnant, I�m closer to five, and well within the recommended guidelines for weight gain during pregnancy. And secondly, there is not a pregnant woman in the WORLD who would not be insulted by that!

Co-worker (looking stricken): Really?!? Oh no, I didn�t mean it like that!

Me: Really. In fact, while I have a rather thick skin, plus I know you and know you don�t mean anything malicious by what you said, I can personally think of a couple of women who, if they had an observation like that voiced to them while they were pregnant would probably have burst into tears; maybe not right then and there in front of you, but you would definitely have made them cry by saying that to them.

Co-worker: But� but� I didn�t mean�

Me: It doesn�t matter what you might have meant, I�m telling you, for future reference, you should NEVER say that to a pregnant woman. Pregnant women have hormones running amok and, believe me, they are already very aware of the fact that they�re bigger than they normally are. They don�t need anyone pointing it out.

Co-worker: But I wasn�t saying you were getting fat

Me: Well, that�s what pretty much everyone would hear. A woman�s doctor can comment on her weight if he or she thinks it�s too much, and that�s pretty much it. You want to comment on a pregnant woman�s size? You tell her how small she is for how far along she is. That�s IT.

So, yeah, there it is. Fortunately I find the whole thing kind of funny. I told my husband and he couldn�t believe his ears. I believe his words were, �What kind of idiot says something like that to a pregnant woman?�

So far, this one wins for rudest thing said to me this pregnancy. Sadly, I don�t expect it to keep the title for the duration.

What about you guys out there? Any winners from your pregnancies?

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland