With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Our bags aren�t packed yet, but we�re ready to go.

2008-01-10 - 11:09 a.m.

Oh my God, is Free Rice ever addictive for wordies! I got to level 48 but seem to hover around 45 generally. Wait until you�re done reading this to hit that link, however, or you might not be back as you�ll be stuck playing the vocabulary game too.

::

Tomorrow we have to be at the airport at the ungodly hour of 4:00 am to catch a 6:00 am flight to Cuba. Since internet is limited there, this will be my last entry until our return. The bags are not yet packed, but at least I have a list, and that�s half the battle, right? Clothes for Grommet and I are in little piles all over my room as I try to figure out what to bring and what not to. Last year J forgot his swimsuit, so there�s definite merit in figuring this all out ahead of time. We have lifts arranged to and from the airport, and have to remember to leave our mailbox key for Bobby, who�ll be house-sitting for us and probably glad to have some space to himself after �spare bed surfing� for the last number of months. There are also a couple of things to buy (my favourite sunhat got destroyed this summer) and a few things to dig out yet: for instance, where the heck is the charger for our small point-and-shoot camera? It�s so easy to lose track of stuff like that when you move!

Still, we are mentally ready for this vacation. J is looking forward to vegging and I�m definitely looking forward to warm air on my bare skin. What can I say? Life is just better in sandals as far as I�m concerned.

If you have a chance to comment by tonight, let me know if there�s anything you�d suggest taking on a vacation to an all-inclusive resort when you can�t drink any booze and are accompanied by an almost-2-year-old. We picked up some games (a magnadoodle and some playdoh) to keep the Grom amused on the plane and have a small stash of soap and clothes to give away to the locals, and we�ve even remembered to pack a couple of large plastic mugs so we can get more than 6 oz of pop at a time at the bars. Anything we�re not thinking of?

Have fun in the archives �til I get back. And I�ll even make an effort to post a few pics when I do.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland