With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

No, I can't pronounce it either.

2007-11-28 - 10:20 a.m.

Can anyone explain to me why I seem to be so prone to cold sores this pregnancy? I�m on my third one, which appeared, just like last time, as soon as the previous one had healed. Since they take about a week to go away, this means I�ve had cold sores for about three weeks solid.

This is a pain for a few reasons: I can�t share food or cups or straws with Grommet, who loves drinking from �mama�s drink� and eating �mama�s cereal�; I can�t shower her with kisses like I like to; and I can�t kiss J. Think about that: not being able to kiss your husband for over 3 weeks. It kind of sucks.

So what gives? Last pregnancy I don�t recall having any. Mind you, I also didn�t get any colds and I had that humdinger that lasted a couple of weeks recently. No fair.

I�ve also been reminded of a phenomenon that happened last time and I�d mercifully managed to put out of my mind: telangiectasias. What the heck are those, you might ask (if you didn't follow the link)? It�s the fancy-pants name for small red clusters of dilated capillaries close to the skin surface (also called "spider veins") that happen on the legs and face. Particularly on women. Particularly pregnant women. Guess where I got mine? One clump was right smack dab on the bridge of my nose, so it always looked like I�d just taken off a pair of ill-fitting glasses� except I don�t wear glasses. The other (thankfully smaller) was on my right cheek, right over where the apex of my cheekbone would be, had I a more angular face. So yeah, I look like I�ve got two big red zits in a lot of my pregnancy photos. And they didn�t go away after I had Grommet either: I had to have them zapped with lasers. It only took seconds for the actual procedure, and that includes positioning of the laser, and it cost a couple of hundred bucks (our universal health care doesn�t cover cosmetic procedures), and I looked like I�d gotten in a fight for a week or so until the bandaids came off, but it was worth it to not have those red patches any more. I mean, I wasn�t hideously disfigured or anything but they did make vain ol� me rather self-conscious, so I was glad they could be gotten rid of.

The reminder, however, came in the form of what looked like the beginning of a couple of tiny new patches when my face was flushed after a hot shower. Fortunately they faded, but I can see the potential for recurrence with this pregnancy. Drat. I can only hope that, if they happen, they can be dealt with as easily this go-round too.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland