With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The great bump watch of ought seven.

2007-11-09 - 11:16 a.m.

It was a mere 3 or 4 days ago when, I kid you not, I rather hubristically speculated to J how odd it was that most of my second-time-pregnant friends had told me that they were showing by 9 weeks the second time.

�But I�m not showing yet and I�m almost 9 weeks.�

Cue laugh track and some merry foreshadowing music.

Pride cometh before the fall. Yesterday, a day shy of 9 weeks, I put on my clothes for work and my pants, well, they fit and I could close them without straining the buttons, but you know how sometimes pants fit fine at the beginning of the day and by the end of the day they�re cutting you in half*? Yeah, I got the distinct impression that such would be case if I merrily tripped out the door in that outfit.

Rather than suffer through that like I did last time, I stripped off the pants and tossed them in the laundry, where they will repose until I wash them and carefully fold them away, not to see the light of day for, I�m guessing, at least a year. And I couldn�t try my most-likely-to-still-fit other pants, because they too are in the wash. Instead, for the first time this round, I skipped over to my pile of recently-unearthed maternity clothes and donned a rather flattering pair of work slacks and black sweater. Today? My favourite, hip-looking pair of maternity jeans, also topped with a black sweater, though a different one. In truth, you still can�t tell I�ve got a proto-bump going on unless you already know and are looking for it. I could easily wear non-maternity tops for sure. The thing is, none of the ones I own are long enough to hide the tell-tale elastic waistband on the pants, so it�s the complete expecting-outfit for me.

I�ll try out some of my other non-maternity work clothes next Monday, but if they even hint at not comfortably encompassing my girth, they too will be consigned to the storage box. If there�s one thing I vividly remember from last time, once I finally surrendered to the maternity clothes I wondered why I hadn�t done it earlier. Not this time. Comfort where I can find it is key. My biggest worry at this stage is that it�s too early to tell all my work colleagues, but I only have so many maternity clothes that are not obviously maternity clothes. Good thing those empire-waist shirts seem to be in vogue again.

----------------------------
* This, of course, has nothing to do with the satisfying of my larger-than-usual seeming appetite whenever it strikes; my rallying cry of �but I�m pregnant� justifying cramming food into my gaping maw as fast as I can. It�s all about the baby attaining, at this point, the gargantuan proportions of a �medium-sized olive�.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland