With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Halloweenie.

2007-10-29 - 9:26 a.m.

As fair warning, entries this week are apt to be a little sparse: I�m on course on Thursday and Friday so I�ll be busy and away from my computer, and I�m considering taking Wednesday off to deal with unpacking and sorting all my clothes and rearranging the kitchen while Grommet is at daycare.

J, bless him, has taken care of almost all the settling-into-the-house stuff like cleaning, unpacking, letting painters in, changing light switches, etc. But he simply cannot do everything. Right now, for instance, he�s unpacked and put away all the kitchen stuff, but in a manner so un-intuitive that, even after a full week of using the kitchen, it takes opening at least 3 cupboards for me to find a plate.

::

I�m not sure what to do about Halloween yet. This is a scary admission, given that it�s only two days away and last year we�d had not one, but two costumes for Grommet for weeks already by this point. A friend and co-worker has promised me a costume because she�s got an extra one, so I�ve been putting off looking at buying any. However, she�s letting her son decide which he wants and will be passing along the other to me, but he keeps changing his mind. If she doesn�t come into work with one today though, I�ll be giving J the signal to go forth and purchase, �cause she�s out of the office tomorrow and I�ll be gone on Wednesday, by which point it�ll be too late. It may already be too late as I would have liked a chance to try the costume on Grommet with enough time to find a plan B and buy something else if this one didn�t fit her.

::

I feel unsettled today. I was at the bus stop where I transfer buses this morning and a coworker happened to be driving by and stopped to offer me a lift the rest of the way to the office. Score, I thought to myself, this is going to be a good day. However, when I got to the office I noticed that the cap from my jump drive was missing and it was definitely there when I left home this morning. I strongly suspect that in my haste to grab the car door handle I caught it on something like my sleeve and it popped off. It�s a small thing � just a cheap plastic cap � but it�s really thrown me into thinking that it may, in fact, be a bad omen for the day. And I�d loved the sinuous, rounded shaped of my jump drive with the cap on, and now it just looks, well, naked an incomplete to me without it. I almost took a bus back to my connecting stop � it�s only 10 minutes away � but I know that that would be kind of stupid and probably fruitless since it would have fallen into the middle of a busy street. Still, I can�t help but wish I hadn�t gotten that lift, since I�d prefer to have my jump drive intact than have saved the five minutes this morning.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland