With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Ultrasound today!

2007-10-23 - 11:26 a.m.

Important as global warming is, and as near and dear to my heart as the future of our planet is, I�m not entirely comfortable having the last entry stay as the most recent one, and thus potentially be the one that will give someone their first impression of me. So, let the pregnancy navel-gazing resume!

If my guess as to ovulation is correct, I�m 6 weeks today and later today I�m having an ultrasound. I�m a bit nervous since I don�t, as mentioned, really experience much in the way of early pregnancy symptoms, and since last time development had clearly stopped some time before I actually miscarried. According to various sites, today I should be able to see the �fetal pole� (which sounds kind of silly to me � why don�t they just say �fetus� or, since technically it�s not a fetus until 8 or 9 weeks, �embryo�?). As eager as I am to lay eyes on proof that the little squirt is there, I�m still kind of wistful that it�s not a few days later when I�ll have a much better chance of seeing a heartbeat. At 6 weeks it�s still iffy, but at 6.5 weeks odds are pretty good. Well, maybe I�ll get lucky. Maybe my numbers are off by a day or two.

One thing I am a bit ambivalent about, this will be a trans-abdominal ultrasound. On the one hand, yay! No cooter-cam! On the other, boo! I have to drink all kinds of water and have a full bladder, plus nowhere have I found it recommended to do trans-abdominal at this early stage, when the resolution is apparently better with the other, more invasive method. I have to admit though, I may question the details of their methods and diagnoses, but the fertility clinic here has provided me with one baby and three pregnancies so far. This one I think maybe I should split credit for: even though it was a non-Clomid round, I can�t be sure that there wasn�t any after-effects of the previous round lingering in my system. Plus, without the clinic having confirmed a follicle and its timing, I can�t really guarantee I would have been as diligent with my efforts during the critical week.

So stay tuned, my next entry will either be full of excited-ness or devastation, depending on how the ultrasound goes today. I should also be getting my blood-test results back from my family doctor today (did I mention she had the lab take four vials of blood from me last Friday?). She didn�t do an hCG beta, which would have been the one that I�d like to have the most, but it�d be good to get confirmation that all�s well on the other stuff too. I mean, if I was immune to rubella last time, I can�t imagine I won�t be this time, but I�m sure I�ll find the CBC stuff at least mildly interesting, science geek that I am.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland