With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Spoon!

2007-10-19 - 12:11 p.m.

Why is it that we (okay, I at least) have �favourite spoons�? What is it about a certain utensil that makes it more pleasant to use than others? And why have I only noticed this phenomenon with spoons, but not forks or knives? I had a roommate that had a few favourite spoons and she made a point of letting me know which ones they were in an effort to ensure I didn�t, say, take them to work with my lunches.

I have a couple of favourite spoons I�ve accrued over time. I can�t remember where they came from (does this mean I�ve inadvertently stolen them?), they just one day appeared in my spoon inventory. I�m betting at least one is a legacy from an ex-boyfriend. It�s not a memento because I don�t associate it with him, and only just realized it came into my possession at about the same time as my precious, but sadly now broken Mini-Wheats bowl which I think I got from him. Still, it�s funny to think that I have no idea where this fellow � the first I ever lived with � is now (nor do I particularly care, though now that my curiosity has been prodded I may Google him or Facebook-stalk him, just to find out� hm, still lives in Toronto, works for a chemical company; isn�t the internet amazing?), but I still have his spoon and would miss it if it were to go astray.

My other favourite spoon is, coincidentally, the one I ate my Mini-Wheats with this morning in my office. I suspect this one was �borrowed� from the staff sink and never returned. I should probably feel guiltier about that, but I salve my conscience with the thought that it would be far less appreciated by any other owner.

These two spoons aren�t that much alike, except, of course, in that they�re both spoons with bowls to hold liquids, and handles on the bowls. Yet both have a certain balance and heft in the hand, a good �mouth feel�, and are of a pleasing size. I am firmly in the �small spoons are better� camp, apparently along with Sundry�s husband JB, who thinks that big ones are �cow spoons�.

Some day I�m going to find an entire set of �perfect spoons� and, when I do, I hope the forks and knives are just as good, because I�m going to buy it. In the meantime, I�ll be the one over in the corner crooning to my solitary spoon about how precioussss it is to me.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland