With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

All quiet on the uterine front.

2007-10-11 - 11:38 a.m.

As near as I can tell, I�m about 15 days post-ovulation at this point. It�s possible that I�m out by a day or two, but for simplicity�s sake I�m going to pick a day (two days before my temperature rose and ovulation was confirmed by the cooter cam on Sept 28th) and run with it, and that day was day 20 of my cycle, or the 26th of September. That would put my due date at June 18th, and mean that the wee blob will reach this stage today or tomorrow. I think the ultrasound on October 23rd should be able to confirm my dates, yes?

I�m not only hoping that everything will proceed smoothly from here; I�ve decided to be optimistic in a whistling-past-the-graveyard kind of way and plunge into the mindset that I WILL be having this baby next summer. With that in mind...

Who knows how far in advance they schedule c-sections, if I elect to have one instead of a VBAC? A week? Two? This is critical people so hit the comment link if you know the answer: I was really hoping to go into Art in the Park this year and I think it�s the first weekend in June. I know, I know, it�s probably silly to worry about it �cause really, a week before I�m due? Am I crazy? I didn�t even make it that far last time. Still, if it�s May 31st and June 1st I may apply and have J watch my booth if I need a break; if it�s the 7th and 8th of June I will likely not be in luck this year. Man, what are the odds? I�ve been planning to be in that show since May of this year, so I�ll have been waiting more than a year for the chance and I�ll likely have to skip it. Phooey. Oh well, small sacrifice. (I have to confess a certain fondness for the mental image of me standing in my booth amongst my photographs and out to here.)

Yes, I know that VBACs are statistically as safe or safer than elective repeat cesareans in some cases, but I�m going to do my research and discuss my specific situation with my doctor before making any final decisions. The fact is, the induction was awful when I got pre-eclampsia last time, and I ended up with a c-section anyway. At this point I�d be willing to try for a VBAC, but if my blood pressure started going up again I�d be scheduling that cesarean right quick I can tell you. Anyway, there may be factors involved in my specific medical situation, of which I am currently ignorant, so I�m reserving judgment.

Despite my best efforts at covering everything I needed to have done as a prenatal workup when they did my beta and progesterone, I have some further blood work scheduled for next week. I didn�t realize they automatically check for things like HIV and syphilis as well, so another needle stick for me. I�ll survive. I need the blood work done before I can get a referral to an obstetrician*, and the obstetrician my doctor is proposing to refer me to works at the right hospital and, as a bonus, looks pretty cool, given that she�s the medical expert fact-checker for numerous online articles. I hope the referral goes through.

---------------------
* Yep, that�s right, no midwife for me this time around. Even my midwife from my last pregnancy said, �Shawna, there are some people that are just better off with an OB.� I must agree with her, I�m one of those people. I liked the midwives as people, but when my care was transferred to the high-risk unit I lost all continuity of care, and then I found it became unnecessarily complicated when Grommet was technically in the midwive's care and I was in the doctor�s. I also noticed that the nurses and the midwives did a lot of finger-pointing at each other for minor hiccups in Grommet�s care, and I�d like one group only to be responsible for the both of us on the next go-round.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland