With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Things that go plop in the night.

2007-09-26 - 2:12 p.m.

I had a doctor�s appointment yesterday afternoon and she had to admit, she couldn�t tell what the cause is of the itchy bumps I mentioned yesterday. Like me, she said that it couldn�t be bedbugs because I�d be getting bitten all over. Based on the locations (legs and ankles) she said that I was probably walking/standing and sitting on something that was causing it. She would have suspected fleas, but for the fact that the cat isn�t scratching and I�ve never seen a flea around me � and with this many bites I probably would have if they were the culprit. Plus, no one else is getting bitten. She conceded it could be an allergic reaction, though it didn�t really look like one. Apparently I should note when it stops because if it�s an allergy it might subside after the first hard frost, which is typically when people with hayfever (or is it ragweed allergy?) find relief. She summed it up with,

�I just don�t know what it is. Sometimes people come in with symptoms we just can�t explain easily.�

Fair enough.

::

Here�s the big news of the day: Grommet pooped on the potty for the first time last night. I realize that non-parents are probably all, so what? But those in the diaper-changing army can probably be excited for me. It almost didn�t happen because I was pretty convinced she was just trying to stall her bedtime (she was in her crib and trying every other stalling tactic at her disposal), but I�d just changed her and hate the waste of a fresh diaper. So when she started asking for the potty (which she often does when she feels a poop coming on � yay!) I decided, what the heck, and took her off to the bathroom, took off her pyjama bottoms and diaper, and sat her on the pot. I was pleasantly surprised when she did indeed produce.

We�re not trying to pressure or rush the toilet training, but man, this is definitely a welcome turn of events. She hasn�t gotten to the same level of realization that she has to go to the potty when she pees, but the pee-soaked diapers are SO much better to deal with than the poopy ones. And she just turned 20 months old the day before, so I think we�re ahead of the bell curve on this one.

Kid�s a genius I tell you.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland