With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Back home.

2007-08-19 - 10:31 p.m.

I'm back, it's past my bedtime, I've exercised way more than usual in the last few days (not that I expected otherwise at a fitness convention), I've stayed up way later than usual and yes, I'm tired, but here I am, feeling like I owe folks an entry.

Um. Hi. How're ya doin'?

J and Grommet and I spent a couple of great days down in Prince Edward County this week (I highly recommend Harrington House B & B if you're looking for a place to stay in Picton - very nice hosts, great facilities, and fantastic, plentiful breakfast) before I traipsed off to Toronto to go to said convention. I stayed with my sister Spider and her husband and had a rather good time.

One thing about this convention that was a bit of a culture shock after the decadent swag excess of BlogHer: there were no meals, coffee or snacks provided. They didn't even give you a cheap promo pen to take notes with. I'm betting they supplied jugs of water only because people were exercising at the majority of the sessions. I didn't get a chance to eat the first day (sessions started at ungodly hours of the morning and went right into the evening) until I managed to grab a hot dog at 3pm. It was by far the cheapskate-est convention I've ever been to, which contrasted bizarrely with the prime downtown venue. I mean, we were pretty much at the base of the CN tower.

However, I wasn't there for the food; I was there to try new workouts and get some good educational information. In these things I succeeded, and as a big fat bonus, I also managed to get a little dancing in at the reception.

I love to dance. I met my husband dancing. Yet, it's literally been years since I've gone dancing. The fact is, I just can't stay up late enough for it anymore. So when I saw that this reception ran from 7:30 to 9:30 pm and promised dancing, I would have high-fived any compadres, had I had any around. Alas, I did not. I didn't know a ton of people going to this thing and didn't really meet anyone there. S'alright though: like I said, I was there for a specific agenda and I fulfilled it, and then some.

Off to bed. Moving this week so you might be stuck with strolling the archives again. Have fun.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland