With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

To write or not to write...

2007-04-22 - 1:29 p.m.

Wow, I haven�t gone this long without posting since I started this journal!

For the record, not one person has said, �No, don�t go away! We�d miss your witty writing and updates on the state of your boobs.� or anything else for that matter. I haven�t gotten any email at all. Not. One.

So, do I keep this thing going?

I guess the answer to this lies in the question, �Who am I writing for?�

Yes, I�m writing for me. And yes, I�m writing for those people out there who may recognize their own experiences in those that happen to me. It�s nice to know we�re not alone.

Most of all though, I think I�m writing for Grommet, and any siblings she may end up having. I�d like her to be able to read about, not just my experiences, but my thoughts about her and about life. I want her to read the funny stories about everyday exchanges between me and the world around me. I want her to know how much I love her and have loved her from the moment she made her existence known to us. I want her to know how much we wanted to have her in the first place. This is especially true if anything were to ever happen to me � how many kids have their mothers� journals around to read? True, a LOT more than used to, now that so many people are writing online, but out of the general population there still aren�t a ton.

With this post I�m six entries shy of 500, so I�ve already written enough that if I printed it out I�d have a book. Not even a skinny book. I could stop now and say that Grommet has a good-sized slice of my life to look at in detail.

But I don�t think I�ll stop just yet.

I want to keep chronicling this journey I�m on, with J and my ever-growing, ever-changing Grommet, who is almost 15 months old and is sleeping in the crib about 10 feet from me as I write this, tuckered out by another bout of stomach virus. I hope to be able to write when she�s sleeping in the next room in a grown-up bed, and maybe even sleeping in a room in another house when she�s no longer living with her dad and me. There might be times I take breaks from journalling, but I hope I keep coming back.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland