With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Our justice system at work.

2007-03-21 - 5:43 p.m.

I cannot believe it: the man who held up my husband at knife-point two and a half years ago (and tried to hold him up again on two more occasions but was thwarted: once when other customers were in the store; once when J just up and ran away when approached outside the store at opening time) is out, despite the fact we�d been promised that he�d be looking at at least four years in jail when he plead guilty.


How do I know this? I was listening to the news this morning and it mentioned this news release issued by the Ottawa Police Service:

The Ottawa Police Service has arrested two men in relation to break and enters in retirement homes.


Last night, around 6:30 pm, NAME1, 41 year[s]-old and NAME2, 42 year[s]-old, both of Ottawa, were arrested by police after a lengthy investigation into thefts at retirement homes from across the city. They are suspected to have stolen wallets, money and jewelry [sic] from multiple retirement residences.


The pair was apprehended after exiting a retirement home in the westend [sic]. Other charges are pending.


Both men will appear in court this morning.

My ear was caught by NAME2 (it�s not that I want to protect the bastard�s privacy, I just don�t want him or any friend of his searching for his name online to find this journal), and suddenly I was AWAKE.


So, not only is he out a year and a half before the date we were assured was the earliest he�d be out, but he�s been out long enough to have been the subject of a �lengthy investigation�. And he�s stealing from elderly people? (For the second time I know about � he was arrested for impersonating a gas-company employee and doing the same thing in a nearby town a few years ago.) Well my stars, imagine my surprise.


WTF people?


I know the police are only responsible for catching the criminals and once they�re proven guilty it�s up to the justice system to determine how long they stay locked up, but come on: he�s a repeat offender who plead guilty to a violent crime; if he�s out early presumably he was considered a low risk for offending again (which just� no. Look at what he�s done in the past and what he�s up to now.); and we�d been assured that there was no way he�d be out before four years.


I�m really pissed off about this. I don�t expect them to call and tell us when he�s out, but nor do I expect him to get out well before he was supposed to. And there�s no way we would have known he was out if he hadn�t been arrested again. Thank God my husband is no longer at that particular business location. This thug knows J�s full name and at one point � thanks to the wallet he stole from J when he was robbing his store � he knew our address. Though there�s no reason to think he�d look us up, I nevertheless suddenly feel a little less safe. I�m glad the house is for sale. It may be irrational to even be worried at this point, but I�m still going to feel better when we move.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland