With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Blink. Eight months!

2006-09-24 - 6:58 p.m.

Big stuff this month � first time Grommet�s been able to get her butt in the air when pushed up on her hands (crawling, here we come!), first wave (she started on Friday when we stopped into my workplace, and did it again yesterday at my mom�s), first enjoyment of solid food (though of course she�s been sampling since she turned six months, you might recall), and, as I wrote in my last entry, first tooth! In fact, we see the second tooth about to poke out right beside the first one.

Her sleep is getting a bit more restless and once we combine that with the ability to commando-crawl her way around we�re going to have to seriously think about transitioning from co-sleeping to crib, for her own safety. Right now she does The Worm to travel backwards (and if you don�t know that particular breakdance move you�ll just have to google it to see what I mean), but it hasn�t been a big deal at night since she sleeps pretty soundly when she�s not snacking.

At the drop-in group on Thursday we ran into a baby we know that�s a month ahead of Grommet and he�s just learned to crawl. Watching him busily motor around and get his hands on any and everything, whether he was supposed to or not, gave me a flash of what my life will be like in a short time. If I was worried about shedding those last 5 pregnancy pounds, I can set my mind at ease: I�ll totally be working them off worrying and running around after the Grom.

J and I still think we�ve won the baby lottery though; Grommet is an easy, happy baby most of the time and we still get tons of sleep compared to most parents of wee ones. And right now she�s at such a great stage, what with being so adorable and able to sit up and want to know what�s going on around her, but not yet able to flop her way across the floor and choke on a dust bunny.

I�m bringing the Cute, right here!

Grr, I say. Grrr.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland