With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

On the road again.

2006-08-15 - 10:51 p.m.

For the second time in a couple of weeks, we�ve been on the road. This time we headed into southern Ontario to visit with a bunch of my friends and I dragged poor J along with me. Oh, it�s not like he doesn�t like my friends; it�s just that I don�t think I�d consider it much of a vacation if I were him.

First we visited with my best friend Jo and her family � hi Jo! � and spent a lovely evening just catching up. Her husband, unfortunately, had to bail on us to do some fencing coaching, but at least we got to see him at the beginning and end of the evening. I have to say, her daughter is one of my favourite kids and I hope we do as good a job with Grommet as they have with her.

The next day we headed for the town where I did my M.Sc. It was definitely weird to be back: for various reasons I don�t want to get into, I hated doing that degree and the experience was made all the worse by the fact that I totally expected to love it. In fact, after my defence I didn�t even go back for my graduation ceremony and had them send me the degree by mail. But, I did like the campus and I wanted to show J where I�d gone to school so we stopped by both it and the town. My cousin is now doing his Master�s there in microbiology (and, I think, enjoying it much more than I did) and we surprised him by stopping by his lab for a quick hello.

From there, it was on to Elora to visit the only friend I have stayed in touch with from that era of my life. Sherry was my next-door neighbour, closer to my mom�s age than mine, and one of the most interesting women I know. She is a gifted artist and drummer. She wanted to have a child and so she had one without waiting to find the �right� man. Her relationship with her son has always been one of the strongest I�ve seen between mother and child. She�s a bit stressed out these days because despite the fact that she�s rightfully proud of having raised a gregarious, independent world traveler, part of the direct result of that last part is that he�s met and fallen in love with a Korean woman and they�re planning on living in her home country. They met in India but have traveled a lot of Asia together and are currently in Australia.

Anyway, to get back to our trip, we swung by St. Jacob�s, had lunch with a former co-op student of mine in Waterloo, were disappointed to find out that the batting cages at Sportsworld were no longer in operation, spent the night in Kitchener, had dim sum and hung out for the afternoon with a couple that are good friends of ours, and� oh wait, I have to pause there for a sec�

So, I�m not actually kidding when I call them �good friends�; they�re great people and I consider myself to be quite close to them. I gave a reading at their wedding and the wife was a bridesmaid at our wedding. I feel I have to say this in order to explain my surprise when I found out that she�s pregnant and due on Labour Day. Yes, that�s right, she�s due in three weeks, and no, we did not even know she was pregnant. The last time we talked it was not long before my baby shower in January and apparently they weren�t quite telling people yet, and then I got too busy and preoccupied with Grommet to call her and man, where did the time go? Plus, she was supposed to come for a visit in May and when she didn�t call and May came and went I admit I got a little huffy and �fine, I�m just going to wait for her to call me.

Despite the dreadful lack of communication, it was fabulous to see them and to hear their great news.

On the way home I finally bought a bathing suit (more on this in another entry) and we stopped in on my sister in-law and her daughter.

All-in-all, it was more of a whirlwind catch-up-with-friends tour than a vacation and, though it was great to see everyone, I�m glad to be home in my own bed again. And no, don�t bother trying to burgle us now: we�re home for the rest of the summer.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland