With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Blink. Six months!

2006-07-24 - 10:31 p.m.

Today we celebrated Grommet�s half-a-year on the planet with the introduction of rice cereal! We made double the initial portion of 1 tsp on the box and I think she ate more than half of it. Well, at least less than half of it was left in the bowl, though a portion of it escaped to her cheeks, her legs, and her unky Bobby�s lap.

We recorded the occasion with our digital camera but I don�t know how to upload it here � if it�s even possible to do so.

I have to say I was very impressed. It may have been runny and mostly breast milk (the ratio is one tsp rice cereal powder to one tbsp liquid), but she took to it very nicely. After the initial �what exactly is this?� reaction, she was even opening her mouth for the next spoonful.

Her aim is getting better and she often takes me by surprise with her lightning kung fu grabs of things in her proximity. Her rolling from back to front has slowed down but I think I see hints of her getting the hang of rolling from front to back when she does do it, so I�m pretty sure that once she�s confident of not getting stuck there will be puh-lenty of rolling going on around here.

The triumph of the 180 degree roll.

She�s started to accidentally make a �muh� sound from time to time, and we encourage her wildly every time she does it. J told me she said �muh muh� Saturday morning and he practically fell out of bed in surprise since it was the first time he heard it. We know she wasn�t really asking for me but it�s a start. The irony is that I was trying to teach her �da da� first so that she could call to him when she�s upset (�Sorry dear, it�s you she wants��) but I have a feeling that �ma ma� is going to come more naturally to her.

I can�t believe how much and how quickly she�s grown since the early days! Equally interesting is that her personality has stayed fairly constant through the physical changes � I still think of her as a pretty mellow, easy-going baby. And of course, she�s been the most beautiful baby since the moment she was born. Not that I needed confirmation of this fact, but I would just like to take the opportunity to boast that more than once strangers have come up to us and told us that she�s the cutest baby they�ve ever seen, and one of them even prefaced this statement with �I�m not a baby-person, but��

Yes, she’s the cutest baby ever born.

Happy 6-month birthday sweetheart!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland