With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Changes are a comin'.

2006-07-15 - 11:32 p.m.

With 9 days to go before Grommet reaches 6 months, she just this morning mastered rolling from her stomach to her back. Every time I put her down in her crib on her back now and go wash my hands, zoop, there she is on her stomach and pitching a struggling fit when I get back mere seconds later. On the one hand, I want to teach her to roll back to her back so she�s not left stranded and freaking out. On the other, I�m kind of afraid of this equation:

rolling from back to front + rolling from front to back = locomotion
(if done repetitively in the same direction)

Eeep! I�m not sure we�re ready to have a baby rolling around this place! Not only that, but she�s showing unmistakable signs of trying to get her knees under her when she�s on her front.

With the big six months coming up we�re preparing for some changes. In the next few weeks she�ll have sunscreen applied for the first time, she�ll be able to go in a chlorinated pool, and she�ll be starting solid foods (well, semi-solid to start with) � all things you�re supposed to wait six months before introducing.

And man, never was there a kid more ready for a little variety in the diet. She stares drooling-ly at anything we put to our mouths. We let her lick the outside of cold beverage cups � hey, it�s hot out and a little condensation isn�t going to kill her � and she now makes the excited �give it to me!� wiggle every time she sees us drinking.

through the licking glass.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland