With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Sentimental.

2006-06-28 - 9:40 a.m.

I just tried the �Superbaby� game that J is so adept at; I lifted Grommet over my head with a �Whee!� and� splat! A small stream of spitup perfectly targeted my right eye. I think I�ll leave the baby-flying to her daddy.

----------------------

It�s odd to think that in about a month we�ll be starting the Grom on solids. I�ll keep nursing as well, but at around six months I�ll cease to become her only source of nourishment.

On the one hand, it makes me a tad wistful � right now, every eyelash, every ounce of yummy baby flesh, was built from building blocks I provided, and I think that is so cool. Also, we�ll be saying goodbye to the pooping-once-or-twice-a-week routine and I am given to understand that the poop she will produce on solid food will be, erm, more objectionable to boot.

On the other hand, well, it�s kind of time. She eats more often than she used to in order to keep up with the demands of growing ever larger. Time was, she ate every 3 hours; now she only goes that long between feeds a couple of times a day and it�s more like every hour or two. She stares and drools at anything I put in my mouth. She might not know what it tastes like but she seems pretty convinced that it must be good, or at least better than what she�s getting now. And it�ll free me up somewhat when there�s something J will be able feed her if she gets hungry. I�ll be able to go back to the gym more and maybe even see the odd friend or run the odd errand without her.

It�s hard to think of her growing up. Soon she�ll be rolling over, crawling, walking, talking, eating real food, etc. and these things are exciting to contemplate, but... right now I turn my head and see her in her crib, her little jaw moving rhythmically as she sucks in her sleep, and I think, I don�t care if you just puked in my eye, you are perfect just as you are.

Perfect.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland