With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Breastfeeding brouhaha.

2006-06-19 - 7:59 a.m.

While I don�t often do much commentary on sensitive topics, I do have a thought on the Breastfeed or Else article mentioned by Julie in a little pregnant. This article cites a campaign that �ran television announcements showing a pregnant woman clutching her belly as she was thrown off a mechanical bull during ladies' night at a bar � and compared the behavior to failing to breast-feed.�

People who live south of the border (i.e. in the States) of course have a tough row to hoe when they are often forced by circumstance to return to work long before the recommended breastfeeding goals are reached (breastfeeding for a year, exclusive breastfeeding for the first 6 months). Bloggers and journalers there have commented on the lack of legislation forcing workplaces to at least provide the support needed to pump milk (breaks every 3 hours and a clean, private place to do it � follow the link to Julie for some of those pieces). I will leave that particular line of indignation to those that are affected by those circumstances.

For my part, while I have definitely met a couple of women who are under the misguided* impression that �there is no difference� between breast milk and formula who would probably benefit from an awareness campaign, the vast majority already seem to be aware of this issue. However, I would like to point out that I feel that a campaign to increase acceptance of public breastfeeding would be very beneficial. Women are bombarded with �breast is best� messages, yet are still made to feel ill at ease with the prospect of breastfeeding in public places. We get disapproving looks and suggestions of going somewhere where we�d be more �comfortable� if we dare attempt it. I myself have been lucky to not have felt so targeted, but I know others who have had to put up with it. I read some of the literature I was given at the hospital that was produced by the city I live in and it chirps that all city parks and recreational facilities are officially breastfeeding-friendly. Why, I want to know, do they not say that all city-run facilities are included? If the city is so keen on promoting breastfeeding that they actually distribute literature on it, why is my local park (where I have the legal right to sunbathe topless if I so choose anyway) �breastfeeding-friendly� but I am not similarly invited to unhusk a boob and pop it in Grommet�s mouth at City Hall?

------------

*And yes, �misguided� is the term: there is no research indicating that formula is better or even equal to breast milk and a mountain of research supporting that the latter is far superior.

------------

PSST!!! DID YOU NOTICE I'VE ADDED COMMENTS? I decided it was time to give them a try. I'll leave them on the site so long as people play nice and I don't get hit with a ton of comment spam, but I reserve the right to close them down or delete any individual comments when the whim strikes.

------------

The whim struck. I didn't get much response and then some complications arose that I didn't have time to deal with. Sorry. I may re-instate them at a later date.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland