With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Sleepy musings on dreams.

2006-05-07 - 11:40 p.m.

I should be in bed right now. I�m tired, Grommet and J have both been asleep for awhile and, while Grey�s Anatomy isn�t a bad show, I wouldn�t have deemed it worth staying up for.

I�ve been having disturbing dreams lately. Dreams of loss or imminent loss of loved ones. I�m not afraid to go to sleep because of them � they don�t haunt me and really, I only vaguely remember them when I wake up and, frankly, a lot of them have such bizarre elements that they can�t be taken seriously anyway � but I thought it odd enough to mention in passing. I�m not often a �bad dream� kind of girl.

Have you ever noticed, since we�re on the topic, how, in retrospect, things can be totally beyond reality in a dream yet totally make sense at the time that your dreaming it? I once had a dream that incorporated finding a lot of loose change strewn all over a grassy field. I was picking up this change and it all turned into bacon, yet I kept picking it up and my thought process changed from �finding money� to �finding bacon which I�m going to sell for money� and I didn�t even notice the transition until I woke up. My dream last night was even more far-fetched, but I�m not going to recount it because it makes no sense when described, even though it made perfect sense while I was dreaming it.

And do other people experience this?: The houses in which people that I know live aren�t really their houses, yet are the same-ish from dream to dream. For example, in my dreams my mother lives in a house that�s roughly where her real house is. It�s configured differently, is bigger, and is always being changed and renovated by her. It�s not unusual for there to be an entire second house beside the one she�s currently living in and working on, and this second house is invariably an earlier house of hers that didn�t turn out the way she wanted it to so she abandoned it, perhaps put runners on it and moved it further back in the field out of the way, and started on her current house instead.

Another thing I�ve noticed lately is that in many, many of my dreams I�ve returned to the town I went to my undergrad university in. Sometimes it�s to work, but often it�s because I�m going back to school, perhaps for my PhD. Yet I hated doing my Master�s degree, so why is this on my mind?

And going back to school is not limited to university. I�ve had many, many dreams when I�ve gone back to high school because I�ve had extra time on my hands (what?), and I always re-take calculus, yet I never end up finishing it so my mark never improves. This one�s easy to explain: my OAC calculus teacher went away just before our final exam and another teacher who marked WAY differently (end number rather than process, so if you made a mistake at the beginning but followed all the correct steps after that the former teacher took that into account while the latter just gave you a zero) took over. I went from an A before the exam to a C- after and it�s always bugged the crap out of me.

At any rate, I�m probably not making much more sense than one of my bizarre dreams right now so I�m turning in. G�night John Boy.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland