With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The Grand Plan.

2006-04-29 - 7:39 a.m.

Seven am on a Saturday morning. What the heck am I doing up? Especially when Grommet and J are both still in bed?

Well, there�s writing this entry, for one thing, that I wanted to do. For another I may just go downstairs and have some Mini Wheats (which I rediscovered during pregnancy and is the Best Cereal Ever). I originally got up to use the facilities and maybe take Grommet out of the room to let J sleep since she was cooing a lot. Also, she�d spit up so I was getting her a fresh onesie. Now I�m not tired and she�s gone back to sleep.

--------------------------------

We�ve been looking at houses lately. The grand plan is to keep the one downtown we have now to rent it out and move to a more family-oriented neighbourhood. My mother is selling her house since her boyfriend is moving out and is looking at moving to the city. We�re examining the possibility of buy a duplex with her, or maybe building a secondary dwelling unit onto a house with a big lot. We�d even build two units new if we could find land we liked in the right area (not more than 15 km from J�s work). We�ve actually found a small house on a big lot that might be suitable for the second scenario so we�re delving into it a bit more. It would involve a lot of work in terms of designing and building � but I love that part � and a lot of careful finagling in terms of financing (and I hate that part but am not bad at it). My mom owns her house outright so in theory it shouldn�t be an issue but the timing of renting our place, buying the new place, selling her place, building her unit on the new place, etc. will make it a lot more complicated.

She�s also looking at small places in the city to buy on her own. This would make things much less complicated, but not as challenging or fun. Plus, we�d really like to live on the same property as my mom (though not in the same house; there is such thing as too much of a good thing, as my mother would agree). If we were to pull it off, she�d be able to indulge her passion for gardening and we�d get a beautifully landscaped lot. We�d be there to do the lawn mowing and snow clearing for her. She�d be able to look after Grommet from time-to-time on short notice and we�ve discussed the possibility of her providing daycare for Grommet and any of her future siblings, and we�d pay her what we�d pay a daycare so she could stay home a bit more and go out to work a bit less (she�s a nurse and her job can be quite taxing, especially �cause she works nights). We�d be paying the money out anyway and this way we don�t have to worry about getting Grom there, picking her up, and what kind of care she�d be receiving in between. And did I mention that my mom loves to cook and is amazing at it? To balance that, I might be able to drag her out with me to the gym if she lived that close.

Anyway, it remains to be seen what happens. All I know for sure is, WE are moving and hopefully before the Grom gets too mobile � I�ll be sad to leave this place which I designed and had built myself, but this just isn�t a kid-friendly house or neighbourhood.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland