With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Hello fusspot./Bye bye Gremster.

2006-04-13 - 9:52 p.m.

Today there has been a return of the Fussy Grommet, which we haven�t seen in quite awhile. To be honest, she�s never been terribly fussy but there have been times that she�s been, shall we say, less placid than others. She hasn�t slept a lot today, though I don�t know if that�s a cause or effect, and she hasn�t wanted to be out of contact with me or her dad at any point. Several times I�ve managed to sneak away for maybe 10 minutes at a time, but that�s it. This is the sort of day I was expecting to have on Tuesday, after she got her shots on Monday. Right now she�s barely consolable after J (in whose lap she�s lying) let out a cheer at the hockey game on TV and startled her. Poor little squeaker.

I have to wonder if it�s related to my milk consumption. Back when she had blood in her poop the doctor suggested cutting back on dairy. I did (almost coincidentally � first we got some milk that �tasted funny� to me so I didn�t have any of it, then we bought just a small carton so I only had it in tea and with my cereal) and she�d been a lot less fussy. Only a couple of days ago we got a big bag of milk so I�ve had a few glasses. Today? Tummy troubles for the Grom. So, no more milk as a major source of my calcium. I�ll have to find another way to get it. It�s too bad because I love milk and it�s good for me. I�ll probably still have the small amounts I did for the last couple of weeks since it didn�t seem to bother the wee one, but other than that I have to put the kibosh on it.

Say, you know that stereotypical pouting expression? The one where the lower lip sticks out about a mile and trembles? Yeah. I always thought that was a learned expression. Turns out I was wrong � the Grom pulls the saddest pouty face when she�s on the verge of dissolving into tears. I�ll take a pick one of these days and post it. The hard part of that is that when she starts pulling that face I pretty much drop everything and swoop her up to try to avert the coming storm, and so I miss my chance to capture it for posterity. And the internet.

----------------------------

Alas, today we got some sad news: my mother�s cat Gremster has passed on. He was 16 years old � which was pretty old for a Giant Cat � and he�s been going downhill for a few weeks now. He stopped eating and had become a shadow of his former kingly self. I�m sorry to see his reign end. All I can say is that he had a good life, roaming the countryside, surveying his domain, and putting an end to all vermin (and some birds) that crossed his path, and if there are mice in the afterlife, there won�t be for much longer

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland