With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Artsy preparations.

2006-04-03 - 10:11 p.m.

My world is asleep � both J and Grommet have hit the hay � so I decided to sneak in an entry. It's really just some newsy catching up�

Daylight Savings Time, oh how I love thee. It was almost 8 pm by the time the sun was faded from the sky. Of course, this is going to wreak havoc on J�s sleep schedule as it gets lighter later � his bedtime is at 8:00 and when it starts to get dark later than that it�ll be hard to make himself go to bed that early. He doesn�t have a lot of choice though if he gets up at 3:30 am.

It was over 20 degrees Celsius a few days ago. Spring is definitely in the air. I can even shrug off the flurries we�re supposed to be getting this week, knowing warmer weather is just around the corner.

I went to the art supply store this past weekend and went mad! They were having a big sale so I got some paint, some canvases, and even treated myself to some new brushes. I keep saying I�m going to do more artsy stuff this summer so I decided it was time to put my money where my mouth is. After all, how could I do more paintings unless I actually had canvases to paint on? I was thinking that if I could make myself finish 5 decently-sized canvases by, say, mid-June, I�d have a decent shot at getting enough done by the fall in order to submit some work to the Ottawa Art Festival selection jury. The catch is, I�d have to submit not only samples of my work, but a CV as well, and I can�t truthfully say that I�m a professional artist or that I�ve been pursuing it as a lifelong dream. Still, I might be able to fluff it up a bit by dredging up some old factoids to include, such as the fact that I have been painting for a long time, and that I took some acrylics courses (okay, a course) in University. I�d much rather just submit the work and let it be judged on its own merit.

Not much else to say for the moment. Each day slides not unpleasantly into the next and I don�t miss work at all � I�d have to say motherhood agrees with me. We went to my dad�s for dinner last night so Grommet met her two uncles for the first time. They�re just teenagers so a baby doesn�t hold a lot of fascination for them, but the older one seemed quite taken with her nonetheless. We saw my mom for dinner tonight. Easter is a-comin� so we�ll have lots of chance to do the family stuff then too. I�m off to bed m�self now. G'night.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland