With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Blink. Two months.

2006-03-24 - 1:41 p.m.

Two months. She�s survived our inexperienced parenting attempts so far and looks like she�s doing pretty darn well, if I do say so myself. I know I�m going to get repetitive and say that I can�t believe another month has gone by every month, but it�s true that time is flying by.

Grommet is two months old. I�ve always been told by friends with kids that it�s after the two month mark that the hardest adjustment is behind you and babies start to be fun, but to be honest, I�ve already found Grommet fun for the last two months and I didn�t really find the adjustment to be all that hard. I certainly haven�t felt sleep-deprived.

It�s funny how she�ll seem different to me, depending on how I look at her. When I look down at her from above while we�re feeding or cuddling in bed, she looks like a little girl to me and I can sort of see what she�ll look like when she�s no longer a baby. When I look at her straight on, or when she�s propped up and holding her head up in a bobble-headed way for longer and longer every day, she looks very much like a young baby, but bigger and stronger than she was. Her length in my arms when I�m carrying her, or stretched alongside me, seems to be ever-increasing and I think how big she�s getting.

Then we go out into the big world in her stroller and she�s a little tiny face peeping out of her blanket and bunting bag. Or we�ll go to a restaurant and one of us will lift her tiny, pyjama-ed body out to walk her around when she starts to squawk, and she�ll seem so little. People will remark on how small she is and ask how many weeks old she is.

I guess everything�s relative.

One thing that never changes is her capacity to delight us and melt our hearts with one gummy smile. I can�t help but exclaim over how cute she is many, many times during the day. Even when she�s working up to a good cry she�s adorable. She starts with sticking out a trembling lower lip about a mile and her eyes start to fill with tears and you know she�s about to open her little mouth in a rounded rectangle and just let loose, but you can�t help but go �Awwww.� and �Oh Sweetie, what�s the matter? What can we do for you to make you happy again?�

Now that she�s smiling more every day, we�re waiting for the first laugh. I�m not sure my heart will be able to refrain from busting into a million pieces with happiness when I do hear it.

Look!  She’s holding her head up all by herself!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland