With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Two weeks in: a report from the trenches.

2006-02-06 - 2:17 p.m.

Grommet�s due date was originally tomorrow. I swear I can already see a difference from when she was born: she�s filling out a bit and getting a bit more solidity to her. I can�t help but wonder, if she�d been born when expected, is this what she�d have come out looking like?

She has acquired a huge number of nicknames. So many, in fact, that I wonder if she�ll ever figure out her real name. The most popular in the household right now is The Squeaker (�cause she makes these adorable squeaking noises when she�s hungry or just starting to be disgruntled). We also call her: The Squash, Little Chicken, Monkey, Sweetie/Sweetheart, and a host of other names that pop into our heads.

I am recovering slowly. My belly is still tender but my incision has finally almost stopped seeping (TMI?). I lost 21 of the 35 pounds I put on as of last week (sure, it�s easy to lose the baby and water weight, but those last 14 are going to be a bitch). Best of all, I was delighted to re-discover my feet! I had forgotten that, when I wiggle my toes? I see tendons on the tops of my feet! And my ankles? Have bones in them!

Today the stars must have aligned in the �House of Food� quadrant or something; both my stepmother and my mother dropped by with enough food to stuff our fridge and freezer. My main concern is not now �what to eat,� but rather, �how can we eat everything that�s perishable that doesn�t freeze well?� It�s crazy how well-supplied we are now. This doesn�t bode well for those 14 pounds, I tell ya.

I�m hearing some squeaks so I must attend to them. I will be posting pictures one of these days, I promise.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland