With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Working for the weekend.

2006-01-05 - 1:16 p.m.

Some friends are having a baby shower for us this weekend and I am SO looking forward to it! Is it because I�m greedy and like getting gifts? Partly. Is it because this whole �preparing for baby� thing is a bit overwhelming and I appreciate the help of others? Partly that too. A large part of my gleeful anticipation though, stems from the fact that it�s very, very rare for me to be able to see so many people I adore in one place at one time.

J has a couple of groups of friends who all know each other so to see pretty much all his friends (except a few stragglers), we only really have to go to two events. We can therefore cover almost everybody in a weekend with one brunch and one evening get-together.

My friends, on the other hand, are much more diverse and dispersed: few of them know each other and it�s extremely hard to arrange a social event where more than, say, us and two couples get together. They�re all very awesome, very cool people (of course, duh, that�s why I�m friends with them), and they generally get along when they�re thrown together, but it�s not like they�re one cohesive group.

I�ve been trying, particularly over the last month, to set aside time to catch up with people before I have a baby permanently affixed to me. I know that when other friends of mine had children, in some cases I never again got to see those friends sans child. I don�t blame the friends � I know that�s just the way it goes. It�s right and natural that Grommet become my number one priority after the birth, just as my friends� children became theirs, but in the meantime I�m trying to cram in visits where I can concentrate wholly on interacting with other grownups. This shower will let me do just that.

More significantly, I can�t remember an occasion since my wedding that I�ve managed to get so many of my dearest friends in one place at one time. How often does it happen really? Extended family gathers mostly for weddings, christenings, and funerals; friends gather for things such as weddings, baby showers, and sometimes birthdays.

Also, my dearest friend and former best woman is coming up for the whole weekend, J�s friends are having their own wee get-together for us on Friday, and a very cool cat I know is coming into town to visit for brunch on Sunday before he moves to the west coast.

Looks like a fantabulous weekend in store! I just hope that 8-month pregnant me can keep up the pace!

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland