With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

The big chop.

2005-12-19 - 12:43 p.m.

I have been shorn of about half a foot of my hair length and it feels sooooo good!

I woke up Sunday morning and looked at my hair. After idly playing with it for awhile, seeing if I could tug on either side of a split end and split the hair all the way down the middle, I decided that enough was enough: it was time to do something about the sorry state it was in.

As I�ve mentioned before, my long-held image of myself as a pregnant person included flowing, earth-mother hair. To that end I�ve been letting it grow. This hasn�t really worked for me, especially since a lot of my hair fell out when I went off the Pill (have I mentioned this before? It�s true, I lost, like, a quarter of my hair and had to go from looping a hair elastic 3 times to hold it, to looping it 4 times), so the top was pretty full, but then it thinned out a lot once it got even with my neck and past my shoulders.

Now that the end of the pregnancy and the Christmas holidays are nigh, and I�m about to be immortalized on film at various holiday/shower/birth occasions, I decided I needed a change. I needed a cut that would flatter my slightly-rounding chin (normally more square, but with the baby weight I�m finding that I�m softening and rounding a bit all over) and fit in with my lifestyle. Determinedly, I called a nice, upscale spa yesterday and booked myself in.

I tried a new approach to procuring myself the ideal cut and it worked out quite nicely if I do say so myself. I declined browsing through the magazines �for ideas� when I got there � who knows what kind of hair the model has, but I�m betting it�s not fine, brown, and poker-straight, with a tendency to grow straight forward from the crown � and opted instead to describe what I need from my hair to the stylist and let her get a look at what kind of hair I had, then it was up to her to figure out how to fill those needs.

�I have a brush and some gel in my bathroom and I own a blowdryer only because my husband had one when we got together. I work in an office but to get there I wear a toque so anything puffy will get squashed as soon as I leave the house. I�m giving birth in about 7 weeks and won�t have a lot of time for fussing after that, but between now and then I�ll be having my picture taken at Christmas, a wedding, and probably a couple of showers so I need to be able to dress it up a little bit. Oh and I�d be mighty disappointed to leave here with fabulous hair that I can never again replicate on my own.�

And you know what? She got it! She heard what I was saying, gave me a shortish-medium length cut that I could flip out at the bottom, showed me exactly how to apply some gel and blow dry it, and even warned me that sometimes it would work and sometimes it wouldn�t and if I wanted to wrestle a few locks that wouldn�t do what they were supposed to, this is the product she�d use. She didn�t put hairspray since I don�t own any.

How cool is she? And the cut was only fifty bucks, which might be pricey for a Supercuts or something, but is pretty reasonable for a tr�s upscale salon. I�ve paid that much for a haircut that almost put me in tears before. I�ve paid that for a haircut and not even been able to tell my hair had been cut when I left the place. This is probably one of the best haircuts I�ve ever had and it was worth every penny.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland