With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

12 weeks, one day to go.

2005-11-14 - 12:53 p.m.

Remembrance Day weekend was, as is perhaps befitting the occasion, kind of blah and sombre. I had two plans with friends of mine that I was looking forward to and both had to cancel. They had good reasons but still, it kind of bummed me out. I�d spent a lot of the weekend in my pyjamas and not a small amount in solitude; other than teaching my class Saturday morning the only social activities I participated in were dinner with J�s dad on Thursday and Saturday, and a movie at a friend of J�s Saturday night. While I have nothing against these activities at all, I was kind of looking forward to some �me� time where I�d get to talk about the pregnancy and gossip with friends, without worrying about whether the subjects bored the other person.

So, you get it all instead. And I know that if you�re not interested you�re not a captive audience so I can blather on all I want�

I�ve found that I�ve been a bit sore in the very middle of my abs, under my navel, the past few days. I�ve probed for the soft, squishy gap that would indicate diastasis recti but so far I think I�m in the clear. Nevertheless, I�ve decided to play it a bit safer and now demo the ab section of my class from a sitting position. I�ve only got six more classes to teach over the next three weeks and then I�m on pregnancy leave from the gym � it would be foolish to push too hard and injure myself in the home stretch. I�m also going to double-check with my midwife at my appointment this Wednesday to make sure I�m in the clear for these next few weeks. I promise, stubborn as I am and much as I�m hoping to finish this schedule with the gym, I will abide by her recommendation.

I was talking to a friend on the phone last night and she was all, �Well, you know what I�m talking about you must be the queen of fatigue at this point.� and �You point to regulars in your class and say �do what she�s doing,� all the time, right?� She seemed extremely surprised that I was still teaching at all, much less doing and demoing everything but the ab work myself. Go me, I guess.

Heartburn is also becoming more of a problem for me, and last night I resorted to chewing a Tums for the first time (it was brought on by, of all things, eating three strawberries!). I may have dodged many of the first-trimester �bullets� but I do seem to be pretty textbook for the common complaints of the third already.

This morning I was very aware of the kung fu fighting going on in the Belly about half an hour before I was supposed to wake up. I can easily see the time coming where it will be enough to disturb my sleep at night significantly. In the mean time I just think about how there�s no crying accompanying any night fits and how lucky I am that I get to sleep pretty solidly still. I�m still only getting up once or, at most, twice during the night to pee.

That reminds me, does anyone out there actually imply that they get common pregnancy ills that they don�t really in order to establish rapport and get a laugh? Like, maybe after a prenatal yoga class you�ll crack a joke about how you�re probably all stampeding to the bathroom when, in fact, you don�t really go as much as you�ve always been told pregnant women do, and in fact only pee a few times a day? No? Righty-ho then.

Me neither.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland