With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Letters

2005-11-03 - 10:07 a.m.

Dear Man on the Bus This Morning,

Thank you for restoring a bit of my faith in the courtesy of Ottawa men by practically lunging from your seat when I got on the bus this morning. Though it confirms my suspicions that I�m getting increasingly rotund, your gesture was much appreciated.

Gratefully,

That surprised looking waddler

---------------------------------------------------

Dear Sister In-law,

I apologize for being a bit prickly at dinner last weekend, but I was not shuffling my chair closer to the table to �hide� my Belly as you suggested � I love the Belly and parade it around with pride. Even before getting pregnant I was looking forward to cutting a wake through a crowd with my round Belly as my prow. For the record, I was trying to get an angle where I wasn�t leaning forward so far, so that some pressure would be taken off my back.

And I didn�t decline to have my picture taken because I thought I looked bad pregnant � I encourage your brother to take lots of pictures of me. Rather, I had just eaten a meal and I felt way too full and yucky to want to have a picture of me taken which would have been at an unflattering angle, with a flash to shine off my face, and clearly showed meal detritus in the foreground. I�ve never been a fan of the �post meal at the table� picture. You want a picture of J and I? Offer to take one outside, pre-meal, in good, natural lighting. Preferably from slightly above. I�d be happy to oblige.

In my defense, it didn�t help my mood that your father tried to �playfully� slap my hand away when I reached for the nacho chips and salsa with a declaration that it was �fattening�.

I can�t explain why you make me a bit defensive when I know you have nothing but the best of intentions, but it�s something I�m trying to work on.

With love and (occasionally exasperated) affection,

That Alien Woman that Married Your Brother

---------------------------------------------------

Dear Grommet,

This isn�t another of those long letters, I just wanted you to know that today when I was slowly waking up I put my hand on my Belly and felt you not just kick, but move along under my skin. Usually you�ve just pushed out; this time you pushed out a few inches above my belly button and moved sideways before disappearing back into the depths of the Belly, kind of like a shark�s fin that breaks the surface of the water for a few seconds. That feeling was both as cool and freaky as it sounds.

I can�t wait until I can start figuring out which part of you is sticking out when. I love feeling your movement inside me (partly as it�s not waking me up yet. Heh.); it always makes me think you�re going, �Here I am!� and I never feel alone.

Love,

Mom

---------------------------------------------------

Dear J,

I know that our family is about to expand and become richer in ways we can�t imagine yet. But I can�t help but try to hold on to our tiny kingdom of two and savour it as much as I can for the moment. No matter how long we tried to conceive, or how welcome Grommet will be, I know that these are the last days we�ll have to be truly alone together for a very, very long time and I do love being alone with you. I know we wanted to get away for a trip together before Grommet arrives and I know that it�s looking less and less likely that there will be a convenient time for us to do that, what with the approaching Christmas season and then I�ll be too far along to fly, but you know what? I don�t really care. Spending time with you is the best thing I do and we can do that at home and in small ways throughout the week.

I know you�ll be the best Dad ever, but you�re already the best husband ever as far as I�m concerned, and I don�t take that for granted.

Love,

Shawna

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland