With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Bookworm.

2005-10-21 - 9:59 a.m.

I know I�ve been pretty quiet this last week. I blame Jo�s husband, who gave me a new Pern book which has been keeping me up past my normal bedtime.

Don�t know what I�m talking about? You clearly can�t be a Sci-Fi/Fantasy fan.

I picked up my first book in Anne McCaffery�s Harper Hall trilogy at the library when I was in junior high. I�ve since gone on to read pretty much every book she�s written that�s set on the fictional planet of Pern (along with a number of others she�s penned), and have re-read most of them many, many times. It was her books that drew me into a long love affair with the genre (and possibly further paved the way to geek-dom for me) and, while I�ve kind of outgrown it in the last decade, I�ve never fully abandoned it or her.

Just as I�ve adopted flurb into my vocabulary from Sheri S. Tepper to describe the lint and detritus that collects at the bottom of pockets, so too would the casual dropping of �Pernese� terms into conversation not make me blink. I�m not sure I�d even notice it, so used to being immersed in that world am I.

And I bet you thought I was cool until now. Sorry to shatter your image of me. Heh.

Anyway, my point is that I�ve been feeling a bit grumpy about work this week, despite the promotion, and I suspect that it�s at least partly due to the fact that I�m not getting my normal solid sleep. I usually need between 8 and 9 hours a night (and, hoo boy, just wait until Grommet arrives and then see how that kind of sleep deprivation plays havoc on me) and go to bed between 10:00 and 10:30, but have been staying up reading until well after 11:00 pm instead � sometimes until past midnight. Add that to the two nights in a row outside of my own bed and the fact that pregnant me needs even more sleep than usual and I�m definitely getting run down.

Speaking of books, one purchase always seems to beget another: when I went to pick up my 2006 Writer�s Market, I saw a new one I totally want, Good House, Cheap House. It�s only a matter of time and that baby will be mine! At this rate I should start an Amazon wish list.

It may very well be that at this rate I�ll also be unable to resist building another house. Maybe in a few years�

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland