With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Kickin� it on the downside.

2005-10-11 - 8:37 p.m.

My God, can you believe it�s been 23 weeks already? That means that after today there�s less than 17 weeks to go! (Assuming of course, delivery on the actual due date.)

Kick Developments:

The kicks are definitely getting stronger. They�re strong enough that they�re becoming the first thing I�m often aware of as I�m waking up. I don�t know if this means that she�s kicking me awake, or if I�d be waking up anyway but notice them as I start to surface from sleep. Saturday morning I was lying in the sun on my bed and felt kicking and looked down and saw my belly bounce a little. I called J up from downstairs and we both watched this new and fascinating trick of the Grom�s. J could even tell the difference between a small kick and a real boot!

I�ve noticed that the kicks tend to move around and, while Grommet seems to prefer the right side of my uterus, if I�m in bed and change positions (I can�t be on my left side all of the freakin� time) the kicks often move to whichever side is lower. If he�s in the same sort of position as we saw on the ultrasound, with his legs over his head, I guess that means that I�m feeling the kicks roughly where his head is, which means he sure must like being upside down a lot! This bodes well for ending up head-down later on, doncha think? I can�t say I�m a fan of the kicks to the bottom of the uterus though � sometimes I can feel them resonate in my cervix and it�s not painful but it is definitely a weird feeling.

Sunday night I drifted out of sleep briefly when I felt a pressure on one side of the Belly. Sure enough, when I reached down to feel, the side I felt pressure on was hard and bulging out, and the other side was softer and flatter. What I can�t figure out is what provides the leverage or traction in there to allow for so much moving around: isn�t it all just smooth and round and slippery? (Note to Grommet: the escape hatch you�ll be using in about 4 months is downward, not sideways.)

Other developments:

My mid-back is starting to bother me a bit from time-to-time, especially at the end of the day. This is particularly true if I have to spend any real amount of time in a chair with poor or non-existent back support. I�m also starting to get a touch of heartburn every now and then. In fact, I feel a bit off today so I�m taking it easy and going to bed early.

I have no stretch marks yet but I just know they�re coming and am waiting in dread of the day they start. I�ve noticed the skin at the top of my belly button in particular seems stretched pretty tight; something I wasn�t expecting.

I�m definitely showing a lot more: I got offered a seat on the bus the other day. I decided to take advantage of my new �out� status and used the pregnant-lady parking spot at the grocery store last week. Hey, I might as well. Plus it was raining!

J continues to lift my spirits with his absolute delight in the Belly. It�s great to know my husband is so keen and supportive. I know we�re kind of sickening but I couldn�t ask for a better partner. And on that sickeningly sweet note, I�m bidding y�all goodnight.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland