With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Kicking but no screaming. (yet...)

2005-09-27 - 12:26 p.m.

I�m going to be tr�s busy until the end of tomorrow, so I just wanted to touch base on a few things while I have the chance:

First and coolest, J felt the baby kick for the first time this past Saturday! I�d noticed that I could feel the stronger ones from the outside with my hand, so I waited until Grommet was squirming around and suggested trying. With J�s hand on my lower belly we waited, aflutter with anticipation. Our conversation went something like:

S � Did you feel that?
J � No.
S � Did you feel that?
J � No.
.
.
.
J �What was THAT?!?
S � You caught that one did you?
J � And THAT!?!
S � That�s kicking!
Secondly, the kicks have started moving around. While I�ve felt them near the bottom of the Belly since they started, just in the last couple of days I�ve gotten a few higher up; some just under my belly button. I suppose this makes sense because according to this site, at 21 weeks (which I�m at today), my uterus has now grown to the point that the fundus (the top of the uterus) is now about a centimeter above my navel, so I guess it�s now in range whereas it wasn�t before. Personally, I prefer the more fanciful explanation of the Grom doing all kinds of acrobatics and lazy flips in there and kicking out madly in all directions.

Thirdly, we have our mid-gestation ultrasound today! (I won�t likely have a chance to post about it until Thursday though, so don�t get worried if you don�t see anything about it right away.) We�re hoping to find out if Grom�s a boy or girl but I think we�re going to tell the technician that, while we do want to know and wouldn�t mind if we accidentally saw, we�d really like it if she or he could put the answer in an envelope for us to open on J�s birthday on Monday (October 3rd). I just think it would be kind of a cool thing to find out on your birthday, y�know?

Speaking of birthdays, J�s is the big three-oh so any well-wishing emails to him that come via my email will be passed on (hint, hint). And mine is on the following Sunday (October 9th), just in case anyone�s keeping score at home. That�s right, for five whole days we�re going to be officially only 2 years apart in age, then it�s back to 3. Two of my closest friends are also born on the 3rd so I guess it�s a compatible date, star-sign-wise, with me.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland