With arms outstretched...

Compartment 14B

Newest Older Contact Me Profile Photos Etsy

Wax on, wax off.

2005-09-18 - 11:44 a.m.

So it�s true, apparently, (male readers, you may want to avert your eyes for this entry as it may be considered TMI) what they say about pregnancy increasing bloodflow to the pelvic region and� waxing. Yesterday I took advantage of the fact that the Belly�s not so big yet that I can still see what�s going on down there in my nether region to some minor topiary-ing. You know, just to neaten things up. The trimming part was no big deal but since I was waxing my legs* anyway I decided to even up the edges.

My friends, other than underarms which I shave, I�ve used waxing for all my depilation needs, meager though they may be, for years; never has doing so produced big wet bloody patches before. And it doesn�t actually bother me pain-wise much normally either but I�d venture so far as to say this stung and continued to sting for a good while. Even a day later I can still feel a slightly itchy tenderness if I think about it, and it�s not like I Brazilianed myself or anything � good thing I stuck to the edges.

So, word to the wise, know what you�re getting into when you roll that warm gooey stuff on down there. Maybe do a test patch like the directions always tell you to and you just ignore.

As for the other rumour about pregnancy increasing bloodflow to the pelvic region and� the big �O�, I cannot yet report any noticeable difference over here. I prefer to explain it by telling myself that my normal ones are SO GOOD that other women just catch up to me when they�re pregnant. And I don�t want to hear any different.

----------------------------

* Leg waxing is something that, contrary to most women, I tend to skip for a lot of the summer while the sun bleaches my fine hair an unnoticeable blond, but which I take up again in the fall when it once again becomes more evident. Even then I might not bother � and didn�t for years, truth be told � but since I became a fitness instructor I�ve become more aware that people watch my bod at the front of the room way more closely than they would if I were just casually there to work out and it makes me feel like I should uphold that fit-and-hairless image for some reason.

Before - After


All content � Shawna 2003-2010
That means no swiping my stuff - text, images, etc. - without asking.

P.S. If you're emailing me, replace the [at] with @ in the "to" line. Oh, and if you put the word "journal" in the subject line it'll have a better chance of making it past my junk mail filters.

recommend me
HTML and design help by Jo
hosted by Diaryland